Safari won't load quicktime plugin

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by isabellasenia, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. isabellasenia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #1
    Hi All!
    so i intentionally/accidentally deleted my qt plugins in safari trying to solve a player issue. anyway i have spent 24 hrs reading alllllll the posts and kind find a solution to my new problem. i have QTX and QT7 loaded on the mac snow leopard. this was working before i deleted the plugins. after reinstalling the QT 7, the plugins are in the internet plugin folder in both my main and user library, but Safari refuses to acknowledge their presences and simply says "plugin missing" when i go to webpage with embeded media or tries to download the .mov from another site. The plugins while in the library, are NOT listing in the Safari installed plugin list.

    thanks for any help!!!!!!! isabella
     
  2. LPZ, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #2
    Have you quit and restarted Safari? Rebooted the computer? Repaired permissions?

    I have QuickTime Plugin.plugin in /Library/Internet Plug-Ins but nothing in ~/Library/Internet Plug-Ins

    ---
     
  3. isabellasenia, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #3
    yep

    Followed all the suggestions about preferences, rebooting, reloading. cleaned them all out. tried it with the plugins IN the user file and with them just in HD library file and safari still wont pick them up. I have a feeling i might have deleted the Quicktime X plugin which maybe is the one i need to work with safari 5.0.3. however what i read on boards was quicktime x doesnt come with plugin..so still lost. everyone says if it's in the library safari uses it, but this isnt the case right now.
     
  4. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #4
    Just to rule out permissions-related issues, open Terminal (in Utilities) and enter

    Code:
    ls -l /Library/Internet*
    (The first character is a lowercase L, as is the character after the hyphen.)

    Please post your version of the following line:

    Code:
    drwxrwxr-x  3 root  admin   102 Aug 21 20:52 QuickTime Plugin.plugin
     
  5. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #5
    thanks :)

    drwxrwxr-x 3 siderow admin 102 Oct 30 14:33 AdobePDFViewer.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Dec 1 11:46 Flash Player.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 111 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Deploy.bundle/Contents/Resources/JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 76 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPluginCocoa.bundle -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/JavaPluginCocoa.bundle
    -rwxrwxr-x@ 1 root admin 4752 Feb 7 2006 NP-PPC-Dir-Shockwave
    drwxrwxr-x@ 3 root admin 102 Jun 5 2009 OfficeLiveBrowserPlugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 May 18 2009 Quartz Composer.webplugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 siderow admin 102 Jan 7 2010 QuickTime Plugin.plugin
    drwxr-xr-x@ 49 siderow admin 1666 Dec 4 11:44 QuickTime Plugin.webplugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 siderow admin 74 Oct 20 18:09 RealPlayer Plugin.plugin -> /Volumes/RealPlayer/RealPlayer.app/Contents/MacOS/RealPlayer Plugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Sep 17 01:58 Silverlight.plugin
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 856 Feb 5 2009 flashplayer.xpt
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Aug 3 2009 iPhotoPhotocast.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Oct 31 15:04 npContributeMac.bundle
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 2394 Jul 22 2009 nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt
     
  6. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #6
    The permissions seem wrong on many of those plug-ins. All should be owned by root, but many have siderow as owner.

    Have you repaired permissions using Disk Utility?
     
  7. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #7
    No. Can I do that without the disk? or is there a way for me to move them to the root? i noticed that the plugins that ARE working are on the root like you said.
     
  8. RRmalvado macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    #8
    Yeah, through the Disk Utility app under Applications -> Utilities
     
  9. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #9
    You don't need OS X disks. See http://guides.macrumors.com/Repairing_Permissions

    We can also change the owner using Terminal, but it would be much better to repair permissions using Disk Utility.
     
  10. isabellasenia, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #10
    with great anticipation i did the repair permissions in disk utility. it did correct a bunch of errors and here is the new log:


    drwxrwxr-x 3 siderow admin 102 Oct 30 14:33 AdobePDFViewer.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Dec 1 11:46 Flash Player.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 111 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Deploy.bundle/Contents/Resources/JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 76 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPluginCocoa.bundle -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/JavaPluginCocoa.bundle
    -rwxrwxr-x@ 1 root admin 4752 Feb 7 2006 NP-PPC-Dir-Shockwave
    drwxrwxr-x@ 3 root admin 102 Jun 5 2009 OfficeLiveBrowserPlugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 May 18 2009 Quartz Composer.webplugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Jan 7 2010 QuickTime Plugin.plugin
    drwxr-xr-x@ 49 siderow admin 1666 Dec 4 11:44 QuickTime Plugin.webplugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 siderow admin 74 Oct 20 18:09 RealPlayer Plugin.plugin -> /Volumes/RealPlayer/RealPlayer.app/Contents/MacOS/RealPlayer Plugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Sep 17 01:58 Silverlight.plugin
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 856 Feb 5 2009 flashplayer.xpt
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Aug 3 2009 iPhotoPhotocast.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Oct 31 15:04 npContributeMac.bundle
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 2394 Jul 22 2009 nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt

    however; after i rebooted the problem still exists
     
  11. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #11
    Please move

    QuickTime Plugin.webplugin

    to your Desktop temporarily. Then quit and restart Safari.
     
  12. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #12
    OK, tried that again. still no change. Can't figure out why Safari is just ignoring that the plugin is there. Unless it doesn't like the version....is that possible?
     
  13. LPZ, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #13
    Please move the QuickTime Plugin.webplugin back to its previous place. Do you have Quicktime plug-ins in any other folders?

    After you move the QuickTime Plugin.webplugin back, please run the earlier Terminal command again and post the output.

    [EDIT]

    Also, in Terminal, please enter

    Code:
    more /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/QuickTime\ Plugin.plugin/Contents/version.plist
    and post the output. This should tell us what version you have.
     
  14. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #14
    THANKS FOR YOUR HELP! I would really like to leave the house haaaa
    yes i have the plugins in both the HD/library/internet plugins and the user/library/internet plugins

    here is the latest


    drwxrwxr-x 3 siderow admin 102 Oct 30 14:33 AdobePDFViewer.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Dec 1 11:46 Flash Player.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 111 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Deploy.bundle/Contents/Resources/JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 76 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPluginCocoa.bundle -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/JavaPluginCocoa.bundle
    -rwxrwxr-x@ 1 root admin 4752 Feb 7 2006 NP-PPC-Dir-Shockwave
    drwxrwxr-x@ 3 root admin 102 Jun 5 2009 OfficeLiveBrowserPlugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 May 18 2009 Quartz Composer.webplugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Jan 7 2010 QuickTime Plugin.plugin
    drwxr-xr-x@ 49 siderow admin 1666 Dec 4 11:44 QuickTime Plugin.webplugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 siderow admin 74 Oct 20 18:09 RealPlayer Plugin.plugin -> /Volumes/RealPlayer/RealPlayer.app/Contents/MacOS/RealPlayer Plugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Sep 17 01:58 Silverlight.plugin
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 856 Feb 5 2009 flashplayer.xpt
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Aug 3 2009 iPhotoPhotocast.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Oct 31 15:04 npContributeMac.bundle
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 2394 Jul 22 2009 nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt

    the plugins that are listed in safari's plugin list are iphoto, java plug-in2, microsoft office, npcontribute, quartz, shockwave, silverlight, and switchable java .....no QT
     
  15. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #15
    Please move the Quicktime plugins from user/Library/Internet Plug-Ins to your Desktop, at least temporarily. Then restart Safari again.

    Also, in Terminal, please enter

    Code:
    more /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/QuickTime\ Plugin.plugin/Contents/version.plist
    and post the output. This should tell us what version you have.
     
  16. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #16
    more /Library/Internet\ Plug-Ins/QuickTime\ Plugin.plugin/Contents/version.plist
    /Library/Internet Plug-Ins/QuickTime Plugin.plugin/Contents/version.plist: No such file or directory


    here is the list again without the files in the user but with them in the HD library


    drwxrwxr-x 3 siderow admin 102 Oct 30 14:33 AdobePDFViewer.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Dec 1 11:46 Flash Player.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 111 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/Deploy.bundle/Contents/Resources/JavaPlugin2_NPAPI.plugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 root admin 76 Dec 3 23:38 JavaPluginCocoa.bundle -> /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Resources/JavaPluginCocoa.bundle
    -rwxrwxr-x@ 1 root admin 4752 Feb 7 2006 NP-PPC-Dir-Shockwave
    drwxrwxr-x@ 3 root admin 102 Jun 5 2009 OfficeLiveBrowserPlugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 May 18 2009 Quartz Composer.webplugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Jan 7 2010 QuickTime Plugin.plugin
    drwxr-xr-x@ 49 siderow admin 1666 Dec 4 11:44 QuickTime Plugin.webplugin
    lrwxr-xr-x 1 siderow admin 74 Oct 20 18:09 RealPlayer Plugin.plugin -> /Volumes/RealPlayer/RealPlayer.app/Contents/MacOS/RealPlayer Plugin.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Sep 17 01:58 Silverlight.plugin
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 856 Feb 5 2009 flashplayer.xpt
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Aug 3 2009 iPhotoPhotocast.plugin
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Oct 31 15:04 npContributeMac.bundle
    -rw-rw-r-- 1 root admin 2394 Jul 22 2009 nsIQTScriptablePlugin.xpt
     
  17. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #17
    Strange. Where did you get that QuickTime Plugin.plugin?

    In Terminal, please enter

    Code:
    ls -l /Library/Internet*Plug-Ins/QuickTime*Plugin.plugin/Contents
    and post the results.
     
  18. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #18
    ls: /Library/Internet: No such file or directory
    ls: Plug-Ins/QuickTime: No such file or directory
    ls: Plugin.plugin/Contents: No such file or directory

    i deleted everything that was in there for quicktime last night trying to fix an issue that is now irrelevant. so i went and reinstalled quicktime 7.6.6 today and i am guessing thats where the plugin came from...not sure but it wasnt there before because i deleted it. (and of course emptied my trash)
     
  19. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #19
    You must have entered the command incorrectly. Please copy and paste the following directly into Terminal:

    Code:
    ls -l /Library/Internet*Plug-Ins/QuickTime*Plugin.plugin/Contents
     
  20. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #20
    MacBook-Pro:~ siderow$ ls -l /Library/Internet*Plug-Ins/QuickTime*Plugin.plugin/Contents
    total 0
    drwxrwxr-x 3 root admin 102 Dec 1 11:43 MacOS
    drwxrwxr-x 4 root admin 136 Dec 3 22:43 Resources
     
  21. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #21
    Well, now I'm really puzzled. Your QuickTime Plugin.plugin seems incomplete. I'm also wondering what exactly you downloaded and installed. There's a QuickTimePlayer7.6.6_SnowLeopard.dmg (which doesn't seem to have any Internet plug-ins) and a QuickTime766Leopard.dmg (which isn't for Snow Leopard).

    Without more info I have no way of knowing what plugin you actually have.
     
  22. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #22
    the latest install was the QuickTimePlayer7.6.6_SnowLeopard.dmg
     
  23. LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #23
    That package does not contain internet plug-ins, so what you have came from somewhere else.
     
  24. isabellasenia thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    #24
    hmmmm

    well, i have quicktime x installed but i thought it didnt have plugins either. can you suggest a file download to get my plugins back working?
     
  25. LPZ, Dec 4, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2010

    LPZ macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #25
    I can't find a download link for a package that contains the plug-in you need. You can get a copy of mine by entering the following in Terminal:

    Code:
    curl -o ~/Desktop/QuickTimePlugin.plugin.zip URL-REMOVED/temp/QuickTimePlugin.plugin.zip
    Copy and paste this into Terminal and press return. If it works, a file named
    QuickTimePlugin.plugin.zip should eventually download to your Desktop. Double-click to unzip, and then move the unzipped plugin to /Library/Internet Plug-Ins. Then repair permissions and try Safari again.
     

Share This Page