Safari

Discussion in 'iPad' started by cberry240, Mar 20, 2011.

  1. cberry240 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #1
    Is there a way in Safari on iPad that if I type say fastcompany or facebook or a keyword in the address bar Safari can search and load the correct page ( similar to what it does on my laptop?

    Right now it goes to a Comcast can't find domain page that offers suggestions.
     
  2. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
  3. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #3
    I don't understand that. Seems pretty simple that I should be able to type google or facebook into the address bar and safari can get me to the correct site. However this isn't the case on iPad. Is it a setting that I've missed?
     
  4. superstrikertwo macrumors 65816

    superstrikertwo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    There is no setting for it. Browsers don't automatically know what website you want just by typing the first part of it. How is it supposed to know if you want .com .net .org ect?
     
  5. marioman38 macrumors 6502a

    marioman38

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    #5
    There's your answer buddy. Configure it in your router.
     
  6. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

    upinflames900

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
  7. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Well given your inability to type even the most basic proper subject line, I doubt you will have the patience to configure OpenDNS. We are seriously headed for the BNL ship with sodabots and floating chairs.
     
  8. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #8
    Visiting Sites using Keywords in the Address Bar

    Let me see if I can be a little more clear.

    Right now, I am on my laptop a MacBook Pro using Safari 5.0.4/Firefox 3.6.15 using a Belkin router, which I haven't done anything to other than plug in.

    If I type "facebook", "macrumors", "mcdonalds" or whatever keyword including a site I might not have been to like npr into the address bar of the browser it will take me to the correct website. Without me having to type the whole name.

    That happens right now. That's how I got to macrumors. Again having done nothing to the router, my browser settings or anything.

    Now, my new iPad does not do that. When I type "npr" or "facebook" or "macrumors" into the address bar I get a Comcast page that says the domain can't be found. This page offers suggested links to what it thinks I might be trying to visit.

    Again same router using Safari that is on that iPad. There has to be something I'm missing but as some of you have pointed out I'm not quite as tech savvy as others here. It has nothing to do with being lazy. It's a convenience that I have grown use to using that saves time.
     
  9. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #9

    Rude. Seriously.
     
  10. Ecoh macrumors 6502a

    Ecoh

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    I don't have an iPad yet, so I don't know, but, on my notebook the webpage has to be in the Safari history for it to load.
     
  11. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #11
    Doesn't the website you wish to visit come up when you start typing the name?
     
  12. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #12
    Nope. I've searched google and see that is a feature call "smart bar" that will offer up suggestions based on bookmarks and past site visits.

    My browser on my laptop does not do that. I literally just type a keyword like "ehow", a site that I have never been to in my life, in the address bar and it redirects me to http://www.ehow.com.
     
  13. asleep macrumors 68040

    asleep

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    #13
    Safari will learn your most visited sites and offer them as you type -- for me, "g" gets google, gmail, & golf website.

    Chrome does this best on my laptop.

    In IE, you can select an address bar search to "just go to the most likely site."
     
  14. mcdj macrumors 604

    mcdj

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    "What if everyone did it?"
    -Immanuel Kant
     
  15. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #15
    I understand all the ways that this feature can be used on a notebook.

    The issue is on my iPad. Safari is not learning nor is it able to handle the keywords that I input into the address bar.
     
  16. iPad 2nd Gen macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #16
    He's right. A Google search fpr OpenDNS would have solved all your problems.
     
  17. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #17
    Very peculiar because mine is.
     
  18. cberry240 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #18
    Learning and showing a list of sites you've been to or allowing you to type just a keyword like hotmail and hitting enter?
     
  19. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #19
    It brings up a list of sites as I enter letters in the address bar.

    For example:

    I input "ma" in the address bar and it comes up with a list based on my frequently visited sites and bookmarks.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #20
    I beleive thats an OSX safari feature that completes the www. and .com for you when you enter a website name only (firefox and chrome do it too). I dont think that feature has made it's way to iOS yet.
     

Share This Page