Safe mode

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Niyaolowe, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. Niyaolowe macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #1
    Hi, first I'm headed into work so I don't have much time to do some searching till I get home tonight, so I thaught I'd shoot off a quick thread about my issue.

    So I've had my phone jb with pt on 3.1 fo awhile now in the last 6 month
    I'm guessing it's crashed and entered safe mode maybe 1-2. Till today it's crashed 3 times in about 5 hours. Now the only thing I've added in the last few weeks is the android unlock and a payed add on to catagories that allows badges and such from apps in folders to show up ontop of said folders.

    So I was wondering if anyone had any advice, or could point me to some info that might help me debug this issue without a clean restore

    I'd rather not restore because I tried to jb a friends phone with the custom 3.1 fw I have and I jut kept getting a 1600 error. So I'm afraid if I try to restore mine I'll lose my jb. Thanks, niyao
     
  2. Niyaolowe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #2
    Ohh and I forgot to add that when it enters safe mode it says moblie substraite /did not/ cause the error
     
  3. scirica macrumors 68020

    scirica

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #3
    If that firmware is the same that you used to jailbreak your phone, I'm pretty confident it will be fine on yours. Whether it works on someone else's phone is dependent on many variables.

    If you don't get an answer soon, I'd say go ahead and use the firmware you have used successfully in the past without fear.
     
  4. Niyaolowe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #4
    So can a 3g be restored to any older fw without any added steps? It's just the 3gs that looks to apples server to allow only the newest fw to be installed?

    I ask because when I tried to use the custom fw 3.1 that I used on my Phone on my buddies phone and got the 1600 error, I tried all my USB port restarted my pc ect to get it to load and i just kept getting that 1600 error.

    That's why I'm hesitant to try a full restore on mine.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    The firmware on a 3G can up upgraded and downgraded as wished, and jailbroken at any version.
     
  6. Niyaolowe thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    #6
    Ok think, ive done my homework here, but I would like to double check this.

    being as I still have a copy of the custom 3.1 FW I used the first time, I would just go into DFU mode again and shift restore and select that FW again just like I did the first time? Not have to restore to an offical version first?

    and correct me if I am wrong but if I go into DFU mode and get the 1600 error, a hard reset should put the phone back to how it was before going into DFU correct?

    thanks
     

Share This Page