Safely deleting the "old" CC 5.7?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by MiniD3, May 3, 2015.

  1. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Hi Guys,
    Have done the upgrade to CC LR 6 from CC LR 5.7,
    The "old" LR is still there, whats the best way to get rid of the old one?
    I believe there are some apps out there but would hate to delete the catalog,
    ........Gary
     
  2. MCAsan macrumors 601

    MCAsan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #2
    First, ALWAYS have a good backup using TM, CCC or other utility. No excuses on this one.

    Drag the old app to the Trash. Restart the Mac. Make sure the new version still sees the catalog and the master images wherever they are stored.
     
  3. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #3
    Thank you,
    Yes I have CCC,
    Now to pluck up the courage to do it
    I now have my back-up going to pictures as they were previously in documents
    I'm guessing the one on the right is LR 6?
    Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 1.49.33 pm.png
    Also guessing the one on the right here is the catalog for LR 6?
    Screen Shot 2015-05-04 at 1.45.23 pm.png

    .........Gary
     
  4. Mike Boreham macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Gary, a few thoughts about your posts.....

    The LR5.7 app is in the apps folder and can be deleted like MCAsan said. The catalog and preview files are usually in~/Pictures by default but can be anywhere, and the masters will be where you put them.

    When I launched LR6 first time it created new catalog and preview files (.lrdata and .lrcat) in the same location as the LR5 ones but with a "-2" suffix. Did this happen for you? I deleted the original LR5 ones, without the -2 suffix, after a few days.

    Sounds like your backup is on same drive as your main. Not a good plan. If you are using CCC to another drive and you do not have data on an external, then everything is backed up by CCC anyway. Not sure why you have a backup in Pictures.

    Is that "Lightroom Settings" folder a copy of ~/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Lightroom? Again, if you have a CCC backup, your settings are backed up on that. This folder is used by LR5 and LR6 so I shouldn't try deleting anything from it.
     
  5. MiniD3 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    MiniD3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Location:
    Australia
    #5
    Tks Mike,

    Us technology challenged guys make some wrong decisions at times, (often) :)

    Thank you for the point about the LR back -up being in pictures, the LR back-up is actually the Catalog backup, all started when I was "cleaning up" the old catalog back-up files and accidentally deleted the catalog, oops! Glad the TM system UI was easy to use and was able to turn the clock back,

    So I ended up putting the LR catalog back up in a folder I knew where they were and am cautious about deleting the old ones now

    All my images are on external drives, its just the previews that are on the Mac, I then used CCC to clone that drive,

    I basically have 3 external drives,
    2 for images, one gets cloned,
    1 one for back-up with TM, I was thinking that this would suffice for the catalog as the file is so small?
    I swap out this drive every few days

    Tks again for your help
    ........Gary
     

Share This Page