Sales Tax

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by macosupafly, Jul 5, 2007.

1. macosupafly macrumors newbie

I know that apple does not charge sales tax when you buy a gift card...

however, do they charge sales tax when you buy an item with the giftcard.

I am a college student who goes out of state for college, and I am going to be caught in between the 2 tax free weekends during my travels. so I was wondering if i bought the full amount of the computer in gift cards. then went back and used them to buy the computer if I would end up having to pay taxes on it.

Thank you, and I know this is a stupid question , but hey it's worth a try.

2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

i'm a bit confused...

but here is a shot. the only time/day that you'll get the tax free is on those days. period.

3. devilot Moderator emeritus

devilot

Think of it like this, when you buy a gift card, you're essentially trading money for money. They legally cannot tax you for that.

However, when you then use "their" money (AKA the gift card) you're purchasing goods with "money" and thus, sales tax will be charged.

4. macosupafly thread starter macrumors newbie

thank you, I didn't think it would work, but thanks alot.

5. flyfish29 macrumors 68020

flyfish29

Soooo, were you thinking of buying $1400 worth of gift cards and getting a Blackbook tax free? ;)

6. macosupafly thread starter macrumors newbie

no, actually 1800 and getting a 15' mbp, i already had the core duo blackbook, but wanted to get the new santa rosa mbp

7. Dimwhit macrumors 68000

Dimwhit

It's much easier to just order from MacMall. They don't charge sales tax and shipping is usually free. Of course, you should claim the purchase on your state taxes and pay the sales tax then (I think it's then called a 'use tax'), but whether or not you do that is between you and your conscience. ;)

8. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

So why don;t you the buy the computer, not gift cards when you are in another state