Salesman suggested a higher end iMac. Please advise.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by kafel, Oct 18, 2011.

1. kafel, Oct 18, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2011

kafel macrumors newbie

Hi guys, I know asking which imac to buy have been asked a zillion times but I appreciate if someone can help me out.

After surfing the net for a suitable mac for my home use, I made the decision to purchase a 27" 2.7ghz iMac (no upgrades except for the ram). I went to the store today with the intention to purchase one but the salesman suggested that I buy the 3.4ghz i7 instead after I told him what I'll be using the iMac for. I'm not sure if he merely wants more commission or i should really get a better one.

I will be using the iMac to surf the net, transfer music from my iTunes to my iPhone, watch movies online and edit photos with photoshop. I'm just a photography hobbyist and i usually edit my photos twice or thrice a week. (sometimes not use photoshop for weeks) As for games, i will probably only install The Sims. So do I really need a 3.4ghz, get a 3.1ghz or just stick to the 2.7ghz?

Should I get the magic mouse or trackpad?

Thanks in advance for your advice! :)

2. Intell macrumors P6

Intell

The 2.7Ghz sounds like the perfect CPU for your needs.

3. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

I would get the 2.7GHz model and upgrade your RAM, best bang for your buck, unless you might find yourself using Photoshop more often get the 3.4GHz if you'll need the computer to last longer.

4. mrsir2009 macrumors 604

mrsir2009

Nah the base iMac 27" would be more than enough for your needs :)

5. rdowty macrumors 6502a

rdowty

Do not spend money getting to more expensive model. You might buy some RAM or possibly add a SSD later but I'd save that money and use it when you upgrade in a year or so.

6. alust2013 macrumors 601

alust2013