Same copy of windows for bootcamp and Parallels

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Ploki, Dec 26, 2008.

  1. Ploki macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    possible? same serial.
    will there be problems?
     
  2. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    After you have made a Boot Camp partition, you can use that installation in Parallels.

    Otherwise you'd need two separate installations taking up twice the HDD space.
     
  3. ZiggyPastorius macrumors 68040

    ZiggyPastorius

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Berklee College of Music
    #3
    There shouldn't be problems, no. It might be illegal if you worry about that sort of thing, but then again, you're using it on the same computer, same person. I wouldn't think it'd make a bit of difference.
     
  4. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #4
    It is neither a problem nor illegal

    Make the BootCamp installation first as stated above
    Then run Windows from that partition in Parallels

    It is the best of both worlds
    Ability to boot natively in BootCamp and to run virtually in Parallels

    Booting Windows on a Mac

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  5. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #5

    It's the same install so I wouldn't worry about legality. If you did separate installs then yeah I guess by the letter of the law it could be considered a no-no.
     
  6. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #6
    i was thinking about two installs actually. one bootcamp and one particularly for parallels.. i found bootcamp partition boot slowly (way slower) on VMWare as the VM installation did. its reasonable of course.
    bit inconvenient.
    thanks for answers, will try the bootcamp partition. hope it doesnt screw the installation up.

    (btw, its not my computer, if it was mine it mess it up and just reinstall it ;) )
     
  7. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #7
    well, it doesnt work.
    the bootcamp still works, but bootcampvia parallels doesnt want to be activated... morons.(microsoft)
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8
    Because the activation works how it was designed would not make Microsoft morons.
     
  9. Ploki thread starter macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    #9
    nope, it is the inferior design (that works?) which makes them morons.
    but to be honest, i really do not think it works as it should... so that makes them morons again.
    we all know its been cracked in about a week so the thing about it is that it only annoys legit users. funny. ;)

    so i stand by my remark despite of your comment.
     

Share This Page