Same HD3000 in New MBA as MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by tech324, Jul 9, 2011.

  1. tech324 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #1
    Anyone know if the new MBA will have the same HD 3000 as the new MBPs have? Everyone talks about processor but I wonder if the graphics will be the same or slower?
     
  2. 42streetsdown macrumors 6502a

    42streetsdown

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Location:
    Gallifrey, 5124
    #2
    probably, but no one knows for certain. the MBA hasn't been released yet
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    Well, the base clock speeds are slower to keep power consumption down, but at turbo speeds, they are pretty similar. This applies to both CPU and GPU.
     
  4. Young Spade macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Florida
    #4
    Quick question: What would cause the processor to enter the Turbo (overclocking) mode? Would it just be strain and at x percent load, overclock automatically? Or am I missing something?
     
  5. marrzie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #5
    Quick question: So the only time the graphics skuld be as fast as the PRO graphics skuld be in turbo mode? Would this mean turbo graphics only come with Hugh fan speed/noise?
     
  6. macjacky11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    #6
    Very likely to be HD3000, but I hope not.
     
  7. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    It'll probably be the HD3000; seeing the target market for the MacBook Air; it shouldn't really be a problem; most task in the Air target market are mostly CPU-bound.
     

Share This Page