Samsung 840 Evo Help

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SadSSDMAN, Dec 19, 2014.

1. SadSSDMAN macrumors newbie

Hey everyone,

I'm new to SSD upgrades and MacRumors so bear with me (or don't bear with me and tell me if I'm wrong in any way)

So I bought a Samsung 840 Evo for my Macbook Pro (mid-2012) with a 1 TB HDD and Yosemite.

It was a rather impulse buy with very little research done as I've had previous experience with SSD upgrades with PCs and so thought things could just...work out.

After receiving the SSD, I started to research (begin facepalm) and read many agonizing stories of how this SSD just doesn't like Macbook Pros.

Now I turn to you all, the wisest in Apple Lore to seek guidance. So should I do a clean install with a USB, or should I go about cloning? Also is enabling TRIM a good idea? Also how do firmware updates work?

Or, should I return this bad boy (got it for $100, it's now $135 on Amazon) and get a Crucial or OWC instead?

Worst case scenario: Should I fess up $100 and go to a "certified" Apple technician? (I shudder at the word "certified", so wannabe professional)

2. newellj macrumors 603

Lots of views but no replies... Honestly, if it were me, I'd return it and buy a Crucial MX100 or perhaps an OWC SSD. I have an 840 EVO in my Windows desktop and it's great in that machine, but when I upgraded my Mini recently I didn't think the 840 EVO was worth the extra effort.

3. SadSSDMAN thread starter macrumors newbie

Thx for the reply,

If only Black Friday was now :(. Such a great deal too. Will trying the SSD kill my Mac or anything and how do I enable TRIM without the kext signing. So if my Mac doesn't like the Evo, can I switch it out for my old HDD?

Before I return, I want to at least try it out. So USB fresh or cloning?

4. hallux macrumors 68030

hallux

I run an 840 Evo in my MBP, runs just fine. I think there are lots of people here that would tell you similar.