Samsung 840 Pro for 2010 MBP

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lydian91, Dec 19, 2012.

1. lydian91 macrumors newbie

My apologies if someone has asked this before, but I couldn't find any thread that covered this specifically. I have a mid-2010 MacBook Pro, and I'm looking to upgrade to a Samsung 840 Pro SSD. Are they compatible?

2. robvas macrumors 68020

3. Hexley macrumors 6502a

4. NewishMacGuy macrumors 6502a

NewishMacGuy

Yes, but don't expect to get anywhere near the advertised speeds. Your MBP likely has a SATA II HDD interface, which means your speeds will max out at 250-275 MB/s. It should work fine, it'll just be slower.

5. lydian91 thread starter macrumors newbie

Hmm ok, this is why I asked. I'm a little new to the SSD scene. It doesn't make sense to spend money on a drive whose performance is capped by my hardware limitations (unless there are other reasons of which I'm unaware). Is there a better/cheaper option for my computer?

6. lord patton macrumors 65816

lord patton

Where it really counts, random reads, the ssd will fly past your spinning disc, even with the sata II limit.

7. jomirrivera macrumors 6502

I will recommend you getting a sata 3 ssd even if your computer does not support sata 3 (be sure its backward compatible.

8. Hexley macrumors 6502a

lydian91 I had the same sentiments as well so I was considering the Crucial M4 SSD.

Check out the link for the feedback from those who bought it.

As I see it it's value SSD in which $/GB is more of a reason to buy it than outright top-end read/write performance. This isn't garbage mind you but it's not the top 10% either. Don't worry any SSD will be faster than any HDD we've ever tried. It will consume less power than any HDD ever made.

People with Macs that have SATA 3Gbps were getting 192MB/s write and 265MB/s read. That's quite good for a connection limited to 300MB/s write/read.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1432670