samsung clp-315w

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by jetjaguar, Nov 28, 2009.

  1. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #1
    anyone have this printer .. i bought it because it was on sale ..
    and having a hell of a time setting up wireless

    if it is connect to my router .. i can wirelessly print to it from my laptop ..
    but i wanted it somewhere else not near the router .. does it have to be connected ?? anyone know how to do it ?
     
  2. gsahli macrumors 6502a

    gsahli

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Did you read the manual?
    I don't know if the one online is the same as the included one, but as far as I can tell, you just need to:
    1) get printer's IP address by printing a config page (hold button for 5 secs)
    2) in Print & Fax prefs, click + then select IP > HP jetdirect, then enter the IP address, then choose model
    3) print.
     
  3. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #3
    Are you sure it is getting a Wifi signal where you have it set up?
     
  4. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #4
    yeap .. the wifi led is lit .. i set it up .. and when i go to print .. it says the printer is busy .. and it just hangs .. if it is wired to my router .. it works no problem
     
  5. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #5
    also when it is on wireless .. when i try to connect to the ip .. it just hangs and wont connect .. this thing is becoming a major pain
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    Have you tried assigning a static IP instead of relying on DHCP?
     
  7. jetjaguar thread starter macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #7
    yeap i set it up as a static ip .. no matter what it wont print when wireless .. no problem when it is connected to the router
     

Share This Page