Samsung devices on a Mac discovered something interesting

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by DerChef, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. DerChef macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #1
    I was not sure what section to post this in.

    Right folks the other company whose products I love apart from :apple: is Samsung. Alas they are one of those not very Mac friendly brands :(

    Eventually my (excellant :)) Samsung D900i mobile phone was able to work using iSync via bluetooth after a few updates to OS X :eek:

    Anyways flying home with work one day I saw a magazine review of the Samsung T9 their "nano killer" and I was VERY impressed this is exactly what I need as 90% of my music library are ripped Mp3s and not itunes downloads. Then I see it in the duty free and made an impluse buy :p, works great on the PC but totally mac incompatible and no mac software or likely to be. :eek:

    What erked me was on the PC it shows up as a USB device with folders to simply drag movies, photos into ect.

    On the Mac nothing showed up neither in finder or even disk utility or even command line which I though bizarre.

    I have parallels desktop 3.0 as I need it for one bit of in house work software. Whilst away on businees I plugged in the T9 using the Mac Book as a glorified battery charger ;). Went to work in XP and parallels says its seen the T9 ! Installed its software and it works perfectly !

    Basically I have three points

    First Parallels is the most awesome bit of Mac software in years :eek:

    How the hell can Parallels see the Samsung T9 when the OS its running in cant or maybe wont. :mad:

    Three I have now no excuse to keep my Dell Desktop :D
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    The T9 probably requires some sort of driver that Windows has and OS X doesn't.
     
  3. DerChef thread starter macrumors 6502

    DerChef

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #3
    Yes I realise :rolleyes:Windows can probably get a driver from the T9 via USB when it first detects it, thats obvious.

    That aint my point, Parallels has to see it within the OSX environment and you enable it to give control of the device over to the windows virtual machine. :)
     
  4. Bill Gates macrumors 68020

    Bill Gates

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #4
    OS X will see any USB device plugged into it provided the device is working properly. This has nothing to do with whether or not OS X can actually use said device.
     
  5. slicedbread macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    #5
    yes after you plugged in the phone, mac os 'saw' it. However it couldn't use it as its not supported so it looked like nothing happened on the mac side. Once parallels took command of it, mac os just passes the device signals for parallels to handle.
     
  6. bloodycape macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    If you get the Korean T9 firmware installed on the T9 and then set language to English problem would be solved and you can work on mac. In Korea its some law that all devices must be UMS or something. I know users of the T10(an updated to the K3 and T9) said the Korean firmware works fine on their device to give them UMS support so they can use it on their linux box.
     

Share This Page