Samsung F1 SpintPoint HDD in a 24" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Manticore, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. Manticore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm eagerly awaiting the new iMacs and was wondering if the 10,000 rpm Samsung F1 SpinPoint 1TB would fit into a 24" iMac? I don't see why it wouldn't considering it's a 3.5" drive but this will be my first real foray into Macs since grade school and my GF won't let me experiment on her new MB Pro :rolleyes:

    If anyone has done this already what do you think of the performance of the drive?
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Can't see why not. Performance would be great because of 10k rpm speed.
     
  3. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    Yeah the drives will fit fine, but the Samsung F1 Spinpoint series drives (my personal favorite hard drives by far) are not 10K drives-- they are standard 7200s.

    If I'm not mistaken, the Western Digital Raptors and Velociraptors are still the only commonly available 10K SATA drives.
     
  4. Manticore thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #4
    Oops my bad.

    That should settle the HDD for me though, thanks :)

    Now I just have to wait and see how much RAM the new iMacs can take.
     
  5. johnsy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #5
    I have the same question! F1 (7200 rpm) are OK in imacs? My apple care is expiring this year and I could use some more room than I have now.

    I red some posts on internet that F1 has some firmware issues- freezing and etc.

    Could someone who bought Samsung F1 on newegg zipzoomfly or any other store post WHAT firmware it has?
    Thanks.
     
  6. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    Sure- here are the ones that I can look at where I am--

    2 different 1Tb F1s-- both revision 1AA01109
    750Gb F1- revision 1AA01112

    Never a hitch with any of them running 24/7 in a 2008 MacPro or a couple more that are in a system that I have loaned to a friend. I have never seen those posts of F1 firmware issues myself. These are from last July- I think the 2 1Tb ones came from OWC and the 750Gb came from newegg. I've also put some 750s in a couple of G5 iMacs too. I mostly buy the drives through OWC myself.
     
  7. johnsy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #7
    I will post later the original link I found about problems with imac when using Sammy F1.

    here is another link

    Also I have white (classic, plastic) 24" imac.
     
  8. opera57 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    Yea, i'm sure that would work fine. It appears to be the same size, and it has all the usual connections, so I don't see why not! The performance should be really good, if you get one, make sure to post benchmarks/a review! [​IMG]
     
  9. johnsy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #9
    Here is a link

    just select hard drive-samsung-intel imac.

    Yes, seems that they have problems with F1's older firmware.

    Ok, it is safe then.
     
  10. johnsy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #10
    Had my sammy F1 1TB for a while now. I put it in OWC Mercury Elite Pro quad enclosure. No complains so far. Drive is quiet, fast, still FW800 is quite slow when it takes few hours to fill a few hundred gigabytes. I wish imac had esata port...
     

Share This Page