Samsung F1 SpintPoint HDD in a 24" iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Manticore, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. Manticore
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,

    I'm eagerly awaiting the new iMacs and was wondering if the 10,000 rpm Samsung F1 SpinPoint 1TB would fit into a 24" iMac? I don't see why it wouldn't considering it's a 3.5" drive but this will be my first real foray into Macs since grade school and my GF won't let me experiment on her new MB Pro :rolleyes:

    If anyone has done this already what do you think of the performance of the drive?
     
  2. Hellhammer
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Can't see why not. Performance would be great because of 10k rpm speed.
     
  3. sickmacdoc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    Yeah the drives will fit fine, but the Samsung F1 Spinpoint series drives (my personal favorite hard drives by far) are not 10K drives-- they are standard 7200s.

    If I'm not mistaken, the Western Digital Raptors and Velociraptors are still the only commonly available 10K SATA drives.
     
  4. Manticore
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    #4
    Oops my bad.

    That should settle the HDD for me though, thanks :)

    Now I just have to wait and see how much RAM the new iMacs can take.
     
  5. johnsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #5
    I have the same question! F1 (7200 rpm) are OK in imacs? My apple care is expiring this year and I could use some more room than I have now.

    I red some posts on internet that F1 has some firmware issues- freezing and etc.

    Could someone who bought Samsung F1 on newegg zipzoomfly or any other store post WHAT firmware it has?
    Thanks.
     
  6. sickmacdoc
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #6
    Sure- here are the ones that I can look at where I am--

    2 different 1Tb F1s-- both revision 1AA01109
    750Gb F1- revision 1AA01112

    Never a hitch with any of them running 24/7 in a 2008 MacPro or a couple more that are in a system that I have loaned to a friend. I have never seen those posts of F1 firmware issues myself. These are from last July- I think the 2 1Tb ones came from OWC and the 750Gb came from newegg. I've also put some 750s in a couple of G5 iMacs too. I mostly buy the drives through OWC myself.
     
  7. johnsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #7
    I will post later the original link I found about problems with imac when using Sammy F1.

    here is another link

    Also I have white (classic, plastic) 24" imac.
     
  8. opera57
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #8
    Yea, i'm sure that would work fine. It appears to be the same size, and it has all the usual connections, so I don't see why not! The performance should be really good, if you get one, make sure to post benchmarks/a review! [​IMG]
     
  9. johnsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #9
    Here is a link

    just select hard drive-samsung-intel imac.

    Yes, seems that they have problems with F1's older firmware.

    Ok, it is safe then.
     
  10. johnsy
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    #10
    Had my sammy F1 1TB for a while now. I put it in OWC Mercury Elite Pro quad enclosure. No complains so far. Drive is quiet, fast, still FW800 is quite slow when it takes few hours to fill a few hundred gigabytes. I wish imac had esata port...
     

Share This Page