Samsung Laptop with OSX Tiger

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MacFanUK, Aug 30, 2009.

  1. MacFanUK macrumors 6502a

    MacFanUK

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #1
  2. benthewraith macrumors 68040

    benthewraith

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    #2
  3. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #3
    odd. It still shows it with Tiger as the OS...
     
  4. jzuena macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Lexington, MA, USA
    #4
    If you re going to brazenly advertise hackintoshes, why go with one running Tiger rather than Leopard? Why not really piss Apple off and be the first to get Snow Leopard working on a hack. And why choose a laptop that doesn't have Firewire? Apple themselves found out that Firewire is still very useful on OSX.
     
  5. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #5
    It advertises running Tiger, and also that it will play blu-ray disks. No Mac os will play blu-ray.
     
  6. nullx86 macrumors 6502a

    nullx86

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Location:
    Wilmington/Jacksonville, NC
    #6
    Not true. You can play Bluray on a Mac, you just have to get the drive and put ii in the mac. As long as its one of the newer ones with te nvidia GPU, it will fully support it.
     
  7. feelthefire macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    #7
    The Mac OS will not decrypt any Blu Ray discs...so unless you're watching a blu ray disc that you made, the only thing the OS will play is a .mkv file ripped from a blu ray disc.

    GPU has nothing to do with this in this particular instance.
     
  8. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    Playing a commercial blu-ray disk, like as movie you purchase in the store will NOT work directly under OSx. Nothing to do with GPU, everything to do with OSx - the software to decode the DRM is not present in OSx yet. You can do it in bootcamp though.
     
  9. ButtUglyJeff macrumors 6502a

    ButtUglyJeff

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Location:
    New York. The state, not the toilet.
    #9
    Call before you buy. I suspect a misprint.......
     

Share This Page