Phones Samsung Note - Failed Upgrade

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by dinggus, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #1
    So, I was upgraded via Mac to my Samsung Note. It displayed on my Note "downloading... do not disconnect", then I realized my internet went out, so I turned it back on, went to sleep for a few hours thinking the phone will fix itself. Turns out, it never did. Now I'm trying to do "emergency recovery" or whatever it is. It stays on 0% on the Mac, so I went into VMWare, and it does not install any the drivers, I even use Samsung Kies troubleshoot to help out which it says it does.

    I wanted to enjoy this Android experience, but right now I'm hating it because it shouldn't be this difficult to restore a firmware.

    Anyone have any clue on how to fix the phone? It turns on and works, I just want to update it from Gingerbread.
     
  2. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #2
    Look through the XDA forums. I'm thinking that the Note uses ODIN like my S2 and you'll be able to flash the update on that (they usually have a list of original firmware you can flash. If you trip the counter, they have a way to reset that too for insurance reasons. :eek:). What carrier are you on? Is it the original or Note 2?
     
  3. dinggus, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013

    dinggus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #3
    It's the original Note (SGH-I717), its for AT&T but right now it's not connected to the carrier because I'm just playing with it right now.

    I was able to download 8% onto the phone but then it just froze.

    Worst experience ever right now, if I can't upgrade the phone, it'll be for sale soon.
     
  4. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #4
  5. dinggus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
  6. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #6
    You're using emulation, right? I had issues with Parallels and Kies and ended up boot camping.
     
  7. dinggus thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    Yes, I'm using VMWare with Win7.
     

Share This Page