Samsung Portable SSD T1 does not work after Installation MacOS Sierra

Discussion in 'macOS Sierra (10.12)' started by KlugeTJ, Sep 24, 2016.

  1. KlugeTJ macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
    #1
    The very fast external Samsung portable SSD drive does not work after Installation of MacOS Sierra 10.12. The App Samsung Portable SSD does not start. This is a necessary encoding app for the operation of this drive.
    Now I don´t have any contact to my encoded data.
    In my family, there is another user with the same Problems for this drive.
    I contact Samsung support via twitter, but i don´t get an answer yet.
     
  2. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #2
    Sorry to hear you're having problems. Few things are stressful as losing - or the possibility of losing - important data.

    It's not much help to but I have 3 of these drives (they are fantastic!) and they all operate normally now in GM and all throughout the beta period.

    Three things perhaps worth trying: -
    - If you haven't already try the drive in another Mac (or a PC if it's formatted something other than HFS+).

    - Another thing worth trying is to see if the disk appears in Disk Utility, even if it's not being mounted automatically.

    - Last thing. With the disk unplugged open Terminal and type the command 'diskutil list', wait a few seconds and plug the drive in and run the command again. Post the results of both commands here.
     
  3. KlugeTJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
    #3
    Thank you for replying.
    here the results:
    Last login: Sat Sep 24 15:05:57 on console

    Thomass-MBP-142:~ thomaskluge$ diskutil list

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.3 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_CoreStorage Mac HD 499.4 GB disk0s2

    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.1 MB disk0s3


    /dev/disk1 (internal, virtual):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: Mac HD +499.1 GB disk1

    Logical Volume on disk0s2

    F2407FD2-67A6-4B5E-BF4A-9EE3095EC3BF

    Unlocked Encrypted


    Thomass-MBP-142:~ thomaskluge$ diskutil list

    /dev/disk0 (internal, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.3 GB disk0

    1: EFI EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1

    2: Apple_CoreStorage Mac HD 499.4 GB disk0s2

    3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.1 MB disk0s3


    /dev/disk1 (internal, virtual):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: Mac HD +499.1 GB disk1

    Logical Volume on disk0s2

    F2407FD2-67A6-4B5E-BF4A-9EE3095EC3BF

    Unlocked Encrypted


    /dev/disk2 (external, physical):

    #: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER

    0: T1_SETUP *134.2 MB disk2
     
  4. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #4
    So this part,

    indicates the disk interface is at least being recognised; the small setup partition is there. Can you see your volume in Disk Utility?

    Also, bear with me here as it may sound a bit random (and indeed it is, especially in light of the disk being recognised), but also try plugging this into a different USB port. It's just an elimination step.
     
  5. KlugeTJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
    #5
    It is the same result on a different usb-port oft the Mac.
     
  6. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #6
    Ok

    What disks you see listed in the Disk Utility app? Screenshot might be best.
     
  7. KlugeTJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
  8. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #8
    Well I have to say that looks bad. There are no volumes listed under external, other than the Samsung setup partition.

    Actually, it looks really strange. Under the "Extern" I would expect to see an entry for the disk itself, Samsung Portable SSD T1 Media, with T1_SETUP and your volume listed under that. Somewhat like this: -

    Screen Shot 2016-09-24 at 2.56.48 PM.png

    So, is there possibility that this either
    a) The wrong disk (mixed up with someone else's)?

    b) Someone has re-initialsied the disk? Used a Samsung utility on another machine?

    In any case I think your data may be gone. Sorry :(
     
  9. KlugeTJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
    #9
    Thank you for your time and help! :) If i get a solution from samsung, i will inform you! Now i go to bed, it´s late in germany ;-)
     
  10. Feenician macrumors 68040

    Feenician

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    #10
    Ok. Sorry I couldn't help more. Best of luck
     
  11. ileitch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    #11
    I found a solution.

    1. Download & install the software for T3: http://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/portable.html
    2. The installation should prompt you that some driver is outdated and you need to upgrade, click YES.
    3. Reboot
    4. T1 drive should now work
    5. Remove the T3 software
     
  12. Takuro macrumors 6502

    Takuro

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #12
    It might be worthwhile to download the macOS 10.12.1 beta. It fixed some USB related issues for me.
     
  13. DevonDude macrumors newbie

    DevonDude

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2016
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #13
    This worked great for me! Thanks for saving my bacon.
    I'm using Mac OS Sierra 10.1.2 on a 13" Mac Book Pro (Early 2015)
    Just add one thing: If your drive was hooked up doing the process, plug it back in after the reboot, or eject and plug back in after reboot. It didn't recognize the new driver until I did that.
     
  14. KlugeTJ thread starter macrumors newbie

    KlugeTJ

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    Location:
    St. Augustin / Bonn
    #14
    Thank you very much ileitch!
    Now it works!
    Great!!
     
  15. evgenyb macrumors newbie

    evgenyb

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2016
    #15
    Thanks ileitch! Your solution works great!

    I've registered just to say thanks :)
     
  16. nathan.l.larsen macrumors member

    nathan.l.larsen

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    #16
    I had this exact same issue and it was driving me CRAZY. I got the T1 in April because it was on sale on Amazon. Seemed like a great deal, and when I was running El Capitan, it worked pretty well. So, I began using it to store some large files, i.e. photos from the last 10-15 years, all of my undergrad and grad school work, etc. Naturally, I wanted that information encrypted. I decided to use the built-in software, and set a password. However, when I upgraded to macOS Sierra this fall, I tried to access it again, and it kept giving me the Loading screen for two seconds, and then disappearing without showing any of my files. I scoured the internet, looking for some help. None of the suggestions people gave were working. I finally figured I'd do what I always hate to do, but hooked up the SSD to a Windows 7 machine at work. Sure enough, I installed the activation software on the SSD, and then was able to unlock the SSD with my password I had set in April, and permanently disabled the encryption password.


    So, moral of the story is Samsung isn't probably ever going to update their software for macOS Sierra. If you can access a Windows PC, hook up your SSD, install the activation software, decrypt the SSD, move on with your life, and never buy another Samsung product ever again.
     
  17. sancsell macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    South of England
    #17

    Worked for me too, having just updated to Sierra. Thanks for the solution. Samsung should pay you!
     
  18. macman25 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2016
    #18
    The solution mentioned did not work for me. I downloaded the T3 software and during install I get the error: "t3 login activator for mac quit unexpectedly". The install completes "successfully" but does not work. I have tried a few times with reboots. I own T1 256GB portable ssd and 2015 Macbook pro with Sierra install a couple of days ago.
     
  19. Pure Distance macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #19
    I had the same problem. I solved it by connecting the T1 SSD to a computer that still had the previous OSX El Capitan and this computer could open the SSD and I could run the SSD Samsung software en remove the password protection. After this I could normally open the T1 on the computer running the newer OSX Sierra.
     
  20. SimonWLChan macrumors newbie

    SimonWLChan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #20

    Thank you! I use a late 2010 Macbook Air and Samsung T1 SSD. For me the T1 mounting app still didn't work, however the installed T3 did.
     
  21. Nenni macrumors newbie

    Nenni

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #21
    Thanks for your suggestion.
    I am having problems installing T3 software.
    Below is the message i receive. Any suggestions?

    T3 Log In Activator for Mac quit unexpectedly.
     
  22. SimonWLChan macrumors newbie

    SimonWLChan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    #22
    You might need to reboot after installation. I took the easy route, tried launching it after installation and it didn't work. I had to re-install and reboot.
     
  23. Nenni macrumors newbie

    Nenni

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2016
    #23
    Thank you. I will give it a go
     
  24. Newpsman macrumors newbie

    Newpsman

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    #24
    Thank you for the solution. I thought my SSD crashed. It's nice to know there are good people out there who help finding simple solutions to difficult problems.
     
  25. neckbay macrumors newbie

    neckbay

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2017
    #25
    Thanx for the simple solution. You made my day!
     

Share This Page