Samsung SSD 850 EVO - Disk Erase Failed

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by sharrky, Dec 11, 2015.

  1. sharrky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I have a (mid 2012) Mac Book Pro and decided to upgrade the original HDD to an SSD. I purchased a Samsung SSD EVO 850 and I'm encountering the following issue:

    I removed the old HDD and replaced it with the new SSD. When using the Disk Utility feature, I get the following error message when selecting the Erase.. option:

    Disk Erase Failed
    Disk Erase failed with the error: Wiping volume data to prevent future accidental probing failed

    I had the Format: option set as MAC OS Extended (journaled)

    What I did notice is that it gets stuck at "Unmounting disk" and doesn't change until it errors out.

    What I decided to do was to put the old HDD back in, log into the system (tried on both Lion and El Captain) and connect to the SSD using a removable docking station. Doing it this way I was able to format the drive and create a partition (using GUID) without any issues. I could see the disk had successfully mounted. However after I did this and took the old HDD out and put the new SSD in and checked Disk Utility, it didn't recognize the new partition I created. It appears as an unformatted disk. If I repeat the same steps to Erase the disk I get the same error mentioned above.

    If you require any further info/details let me know.

    Thanks
     
  2. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #2
    Good troubleshooting. It sounds like you may be having a problem with your internal hard drive cable. Sometimes the cable becomes marginal without completely failing. It may work at the slower data rate of a spinner HDD but not at the greater data rate of a SSD. Since the SSD works fine externally and not internally that is a symptom of that problem and is usually the way people test for a internal cable problem. iFixit.com has good instructions for replacing the cable.
     
  3. Spudlicious macrumors 6502

    Spudlicious

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    #3
    I don't understand what you're trying to do. A reverse clone? The usual procedure is to use something like Carbon Copy (it's excellent) to clone the HDD to the SSD and then fit the SSD in the computer. But you're putting the raw SSD in your Mac and booting from USB? What am I missing?
     
  4. sharrky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #4
    I'm not trying to clone anything. I didn't mention anything about cloning.

    The reference to USB was only for troubleshooting purposes. By connecting the new SSD to a removable docking station (USB connection to the laptop), I wanted to make sure the SSD itself wasn't faulty and that it could be read. While it was connected to the docking station, I could erase the disk and create a partition.
    That's the only reason why I used the docking station (USB), simply for testing purposes.

    My intentions are pretty straight forward:
    1. Replace the existing HDD with a (raw) SSD
    2. Use the Disk Utility feature to erase/create a partition on the new SSD

    Hopefully that clears things up for you.
     
  5. BrettApple macrumors 65816

    BrettApple

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    Heart of the midwest
    #5
    Mid 2012 MacBook Pro... I have replaced at least 4-5 SATA cables on those guys around campus, always causing issues and even corrupting entire SSDs necessitating a fresh install with a new cable. For some reason the 2012 models are pretty bad about it. Though some are still perfectly fine.

    The funny part is that when you put an old fashioned hard drive back in them they seem to work "ok" but you will still notice the UDMA CRC count going up in SMART indicating R/W errors because of the cable. Sounds odd but it often completely fixes it. Not very difficult either, just some screws and adhesive to pull up. iFixit, PowerBook Medic, eBay, etc have parts for them.
     
  6. sharrky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #6
    Thanks for the replies.

    Is there a special type of SATA cable I need to get or do I just need a replace the existing SATA cable with a "brand new" cable?
     
  7. CoastalOR macrumors 68000

    CoastalOR

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2015
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    #7
    Replace the existing internal HD cable with a "brand new" cable. iFixit.com has them and probably powerbookmedic.com.
     
  8. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #8
    iFixIt is currently out of stock on the new disk drive cables. They do have used ones but you only save about $10.
     
  9. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #9
    Figured I would stop by to let you know I had the exact problem.

    Same machine and same issues. It was driving me nuts. (Samsung 840 Pro SSD)

    Problem was the sata cable. Had to change it with a new one I got off ebay and then it was fixed.
     
  10. Spudlicious macrumors 6502

    Spudlicious

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, England
    #10
    OK, you're obviously clear about what you're doing.
     
  11. sharrky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2015
    #11
    A new SATA cable fixed the problem!

    Thanks all once again for your input :)
     
  12. johnnnw macrumors 65816

    johnnnw

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    #12
    Glad to hear it. Thanks for updating the thread with the solution. Nothing worse for a future person who finds this through google and the thread is left hanging.
     

Share This Page