samsung ssd sm951 not detected

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by VillasManzanill, May 1, 2018.

  1. VillasManzanill macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #1
    Hello

    I just got an open box ssd samsung sm951 512GB AHCI from newegg for 272 USD and also this m.2 pcie adapter https://www.ebay.com/itm/JEYI-SK9-P...D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

    my mac pro 2010 doesn't show the drive on the desktop neither on the disk utility. (same things if INSTALLED ON SLOT 3 OR 4)
    here screen shot of the System report.

    do you think the SSD its bad? or the m.2 adapter is bad?
    or how can i make it work?
    thanks so much

    i think i got the best price on earth for this SSD, i really hope is not defective.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. MIKX, May 2, 2018
    Last edited: May 2, 2018

    MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #2
    Please post the SM951 model number or a pic of the blade.
    . . . . . There are also NVMe models of the SM951.

    The ACHI SM 951 M.2 SSD models have an "H" within the first few letters & numbers of the model number.
    NVMe models have a "V".

    If you DO have an NVME SM 951 don't despair .. . right now I am typing in Sierra 10.12.6 from a a Samsung 960 NVMe .. which I BOOTED from.

    All the details are here https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/boot-osx-on-a-nvme-card.1967790/

    NOTE : Making an NVMe bootable in High Sierra is not viable under this technique ` . . YET . . . .

    ===================================

    If you DO have an AHCI SM 951 perhaps doing a PRAM reset might help.

    Good luck.


    AHCI SM 951

    SM951 AHCI model copy.jpg SM951 NVMe model copy.jpg
     
  3. VillasManzanill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #3
    It is for sure the achi versión not the NVMe version.



     

    Attached Files:

  4. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #4
    Looks like the M.2 PCIe adapter might be the problem.

    Be careful .. some of the two blade adapters are also SATA-SSD on one socket -SATAcable connects to the cMP's SATA.
    And SSD on the other socket - that's the one you need.

    My adapter was dirt cheap here in Japan and works without any problems.

    Have you tried re-seating the PCIe M.2 adapter . . also . . removing any other PCIe cards for a test ?

    My adapter is in slot 4 & working well.

    Best test would be to try it in another cMP.
     
  5. VillasManzanill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    #5
    Yes I have change the m2 adapter from slot 3 to 4. I only have a rx 580 on slot 1 and it covers also the slot 2 because it’s a 2.5 slot wide graphics card. I have reset the pram and nothing either. I’m connecting my ssd on the right side And Not the SATA side of the m2 adapter.
     
  6. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #6
    Can you send a pic of the adapter without the cover ?
     
  7. VillasManzanill thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
  8. MIKX macrumors 6502a

    MIKX

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Location:
    Japan
    #8
    Looks like it's in the correct socket

    All I can suggest . .

    1. Re-seat the SM 951 - blow out the socket with canned air first and gently clean the contacts with a soft eraser

    2. Go out and buy another brand M.2 PCIe adapter.
    Mine is an "Ainex AIF-06" brand with similar SSD / SSD SATA sockets. ¥1,400 ( U.S.$ 12 ) here in Japan.

    3. If all else fails ask the seller to replace the SM 951 - but I feel it might be that the carrier could be the problem

    Perish the thought that your SM 951 is defective.

    Whatever, I sympathise with you.
     

Share This Page