Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Boneheadxan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 19, 2009
Hellow,

I recently purchased a 2009 Mac Pro (ATI 4870) and am using it with the 22" Samsung SyncMaster2253LW monitor. I'm no monitor expert, but a lot of videos etc look highly pixelated etc. The Desktop and everything else is fine. Most of the options aren't accessible esp the contrast. I have it connected via DVI and VGA :p Does DVI or VGA mark a major difference?

I know the monitor is a bit old. It's dynamic contrast is 8000:1. Is it purely because of the monitor that the graphics look so cheap and pixelated?? Even the DVDRips look quite cheap. : (

Do movie quality improve cause of the graphics card? Ofcourse on my compact 13" MB, DVDRips look brilliant. Should I get a better monitor? I feel my poor 4870 is feeling unused.

Cheers.

Sorry for the n00bness.

IronFixXxeR

macrumors member
Jun 20, 2009
Austin, Texas
I have it connected via DVI and VGA :p Does DVI or VGA mark a major difference?

Wait what? You have a DVI and a VGA connection connected at the same time?? Try just DVI. VGA is an analog signal while DVI is digital, it should give you a better picture.

Also, are you running it in the native resolution of 1,680 x 1,050? If you don't the images will look bad.

You say the desktop looks fine but videos look bad. Maybe the videos you are watching are poor quality? Even if you play the same DVD rip on your 13" MB screen and compare it to the 22" it won't look quite as good simply because the screen is so much bigger. (Assuming you watch it in full screen mode)

Boneheadxan

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 19, 2009
:D Thanks, but a bit too late. I just went and got the Apple 24" display. Even with DVI only it looked alright. My issue wasn't the DVDRips. My DVD's looked quite bad on it :confused: