Samsung U32970Q HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mintakax, Dec 1, 2014.

  1. mintakax macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #1
    My apologies for starting another thread about this monitor, but absolutely no one responded to my issue in this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1811004

    I am on the second monitor and it has the exact same problem as the first... a one inch vertical stripe along the right side of the monitor where everything is quite screwed up, see the picture in the first thread.
    My setup is a nMP, 8 core D700s, OSX 10.9.5. This monitor is the only device on a TB bus, I have another non UHD monitor on a separate bus.
    Its hard for me to accept that two consecutive monitors have the exact same defect. I have spent over an hour attempting to contact someone at Samsung but it has been an almost comical farce of 5 levels of call transfers, never actually speaking to a specialist.

    Does anyone have any suggestions at all ?
    Thanks
     
  2. edanuff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
  3. mintakax, Dec 1, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2014

    mintakax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #3
    Thanks. So this is a known issue with this monitor that someone else experienced and it is confirmed fixed in Yosemite ?

    I finally spoke to someone at Samsung and they said it was a defective batch of panels, but I don't really trust anyone there.
     
  4. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #4
  5. mintakax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #5
    Well, as much as I hated to upgrade to Yosemite, I did do it and sure enough, edanuff was correct, the display issue is fixed !
    I agree with you Tucom about Samsung. I 've never liked their products and todays experience on the phone confirms that customer support, at least for this monitor, sucks. As a matter of fact, not one of the 4 people I spoke to in either the consumer or business support department could find the monitor in any of their data bases :eek:
     
  6. mintakax thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    #6
    The main OS X window is on my NEC PA272 monitor. If the new Samsung is active, a computer restart or cold start causes the NEC display to freak out at the end of the startup and a weird unreadable screen appears until I power cycle the NEC. I guess I can live with that, but it doesn't seem ideal.
     

Share This Page