Sanctioned unlock for iPad 1?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by wjlafrance, Apr 15, 2012.

  1. wjlafrance macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #1
    I have an AT&T iPad 1. Now that they're offering authorized unlocks on iPhone's, has anyone managed to get them to unlock an iPad 1?
     
  2. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #2
    It's not locked in the first place. There all sim free
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    Japanese ones are locked and some sold through carriers in European countries are locked.
     
  4. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
  5. Jtludwig macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #5
    Wirelessly posted

    The OP asked about AT&T IPads!
     
  6. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #6
    I don't know what you mean by SIM-free. It obviously has to have a SIM.

    I'm not sure what's up with my iPad not getting signal with my TMo or GiffGaff SIMs. I know GiffGaff has signal here cause they roam on AT&T, and I get signal with my AT&T SIM.
     
  7. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #7
    SIM free is another term for unlocked.

    Might be faulty sim cards, all AT&T iPads were factory unlocked.
     
  8. Dangerous Theory macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #8
    I'm confused somewhat. Are you trying to use a US iPad in the UK or vice versa?
     
  9. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #9
    You may need to change the settings. (Don't know TMobs but probably a Google search away).
     
  10. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #10
    You say NO SIGNAL. That would mean it shows "NO SERVICE" where the carrier name would be. Is it showing the correct carrier name or "NO SERVICE?" Does NOSIGNAL mean "ZERO BARS" or are you getting "BARS" with the correct carrier name but no internet connectivity?

    If you get the correct carrier name and you get "BARS" but no internet connectivity than you need to change the APN. Anything other than that it's either a bad or incompatible SIM.
     
  11. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #11
    It's a no service.

    The SIM is fine, works great in my internationally unlocked iPhone 4S.
     
  12. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #12
    Well, that probably is the reason. As strange as it may seem (and I never believed it until recently), you probably need an iPad specific LTE sim. I never thought there was difference but there seems to be according to numerous people who have had issues.
     
  13. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #13
    You don't need an lte sim for an iPad 1! Just a 3G sim. Tho a lot of networks block phone sims being used. If your getting no service you may find that during the registration process the network is stopping the device registering giving you no service!
     
  14. poloponies macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    #14
    It's not a matter of the iPad being locked (as everyone above has repeated, it's not) it's a function of the SIM's compatibility with the iPad. Search for "giffgaff and iPad" and you'll see numerous posts. Here's some advice from one of them:

    1. The iPad takes a micro SIM. If you ordered a micro SIM from MicroGaff then there should be a pre-cut micro SIM in your package. If not, you'll need to either cut it yourself Click here for a handy template (opens in a new window) or buy/borrow a micro SIM cutter, just a few quid off ebay.



    2. Pop open the SIM tray on your iPad. It's on the top right edge as you look at your iPad with the home button on the left. Use a bent paperclip if you can't find the Apple tool, just push it in there and the SIM tray will slide out.



    3. Put the SIM in the tray. It only goes one way, look for the cut off edge. Then push the tray with SIM back into the slot.



    4. Your iPad will say 'Searching...' in the top left, and after a few moments 'O2-UK' should appear.



    5. Here on GiffGaff.com, you need to activate your SIM. It's very simple, and is explained here (click to open in new window)



    6. To activate the SIM you'll need to purchase a data goodybag - also known as a gigabag. Which one you need depends on how much you'll use your iPad away from a wi-fi network. Click here for details of gigabags (opens in a new window).



    7. On the iPad, go into Settings > Cellular Data > APN Settings and change the settings as follows:



    APN: giffgaff.com
    Username: giffgaff
    Password: password



    8. You may need to restart your iPad for the settings to take effect (but you probably won't).
     
  15. TB07-NJ macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Location:
    US of A
    #15
    I incorrectly assumed that he had an iPad 3. :eek: I also incorrectly assumed he was from the US (despite his name). :eek::eek: I guess I need to pay more attention! :eek::eek::eek:
     
  16. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #16
    No worries
     
  17. wjlafrance thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    #17
    Sorry for constantly bumping. I don't check these forums very often.

    I am in the United States, actually. I just have a GiffGaff SIM laying around. I also tried a T-Mobile SIM and neither one gets service on my iPad. I believe you guys that it comes factory unlocked, but I can't figure out why neither SIM works. I know GiffGaff gets signal here (roaming on AT&T), cause I can pop it in my 4S and get signal just fine.
     

Share This Page