Sandvox, Freway Express or Rapidweaver or Dreamweaver

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by caledonia64, Mar 27, 2011.

1. caledonia64 macrumors newbie

Hi
    I am stiarting to do some web design - not high end or fully professional and I can only code HTML for very small things/easy functions (although I would prefer to be creating standards compliant code if it is the programme that translates). I would therefore prefer a visual/designed based programme but one that allows me also to create my own pages from scratch (with a good clipboard function).
    I have two Macs (Notebook with 4gb memory, 2.4 processor) and a macmini which...I do not know the specifics of right now) and a crappy crappy old Dell Inspiron running XP poorly and slowly (for school - I am a teacher for now).

My main issue is that if I design sites - they might often be for schools or and would have to be uploaded to the RM Host via ftp (secure) or fiiezilla (somehow - I do not know the details but this is what my friend Jo does with her site: she is a headteacher). In addition to this it might be that people would want to perform small edits on their sites themselves or maintain them. As you have usually to be onsite to upload to the RM server (onsite at the specific school) my maintaining sites could be problematic. Some of the same issues would apply to websites built for people using Windows.

I have built a number of sites (this will be pathetic to all y'all) using iWeb (which has very much lots of limitations but did import graphics and fancy jpg from Photoshop nicely) but no one else can edit that site without my iWeb files on their own Mac and some sites - very basic and plain - using Weebly (which has graphics and design limitations but has the advantage of my being able to edit remotely with account details - or the person themselves).