Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition Image Corruption

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by cgermain68, Dec 18, 2013.

  1. cgermain68 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #1
    Hey guys,

    I recently purchased a Sapphire 7950 Mac Edition for my MacPro5,1 and it is acting wonky!

    Specifically, with Safari some images aren't being decoded properly. [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    The image in the left is displayed in Safari, and on the right is chrome. Same URL.

    And when using jpegs in Premiere Pro CC with OpenCL enabled. [​IMG]

    I have contacted Sapphire directly and they said it's likely a defective card. I have since replaced the card with another unit and the issue persists.

    I am thinking it's driver related and I am inches away from doing a clean install of OSX 10.9.1...

    But before that has anyone had any similar issues or any suggestions for fixes?

    I can work around these errors, but I would like my system to work the way I need it to...

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #2
    I have the same card and it also happens on 10.9.1

    It's a driver issue. Only happens in Safari though.
     
  3. cgermain68 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #3
    Thanks for the response. Glad I am not the only one...

    Has there been any other downsides with this card in your opinion?
     
  4. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #4
    Well, Bioshock Infinite runs unplayably slowly due to a driver issue, but that's all I've noticed. Apparently they are waiting on AMD & Apple for a driver fix. In terms of professional use, I've seen no issues.
     
  5. cgermain68 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    #5
    That's strange for BioShock - I was going to buy it. I found no hardware issues with Civ5 - I am playing at full graphics.
     
  6. cinealta macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2012
    #6
    So using this card for FCPX should be ok (no glitches)? Thx.
     
  7. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #7
    The BioShock issue is the game port itself on the 7950 on a Mac. If you look at their forum they give the details.

    The Windows version of the game is fine on that card.
     
  8. peabo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    #8
    If you buy it, buy the Steam version so that you can also install it in Windows and actually play it. It's a slideshow in Mac OS right now.

    Also, I use FCPX and haven't seen any problems yet.
     

Share This Page