Sapphire HD 7950 Mac - No boot screen using HDMI

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mokeiko, Mar 24, 2016.

  1. mokeiko, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

    mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #1
    please delete.

    card is getting RMA'd today

    thank you
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    Is it a genuine Mac Edition? This should show boot screens on all ports.
    If it's flashed (=> the enclosure isn't white) this will happen with non-reference port layout cards.
     
  3. mokeiko, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

    mokeiko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Do you connect all monitors at the same time?

    My Mac is working hard at this moment, I may need 1 or 2 more days to let it finish the job before I can reboot and test the HDMI port.

    Anyway, from memory, when I plug my TV into the Mac Pro via the HDMI port with no other monitor connected (my card is also the genuine Mac Edition card), I get the boot screen.

    But I am not sure if I get boot screen when multiple monitors connected.
     
  5. mokeiko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #5
    Tech support is saying there is another "smaller" switch somewhere else in addition to the efi/bios switch on the side of the card. I only know of one switch.

    is this true?
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    No, there is only one switch. I couldn't see any other smaller switch that is accessible to user.
     
  7. mokeiko thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007

Share This Page