SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 390 8G on Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by hrfat, Jan 4, 2017.

  1. hrfat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    #1
    Hello,


    Anyone knows if a Mac Pro 5.1 2.8Ghz will be able to run the SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 390?



    Thank you very much.
     
  2. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #2
    You'll need to add the device ID of your GPU to AMD8000Controller and RadeonX4000 to enable it. Might have various bugs, e.g. no multi-screen support, flicker, crashes or the like.

    Oh, and you'll need to think about power supply.
     
  3. JedNZ macrumors regular

    JedNZ

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Location:
    Deep South
    #3
    I know it's not the exact same model, but I've got a Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 380X 4GB installed in my cMP 4,1>5,1 and it works fine. It doesn't provide boot screens (I get that off my GT120), and it shows up as "AMD R9 xxx 4096 MB" in About This Mac and in System Information, but it certainly does its job well. Playing Civ6 at 4K and getting 60fps – X-Plane 10 renders beautifully etc.

    PS: my R9 380X worked equally fine in my cMP 1,1>2,1.
     
  4. hrfat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    #4
    I have 980w psu in my mac pro 5.1 (2010), is this enough for R9 card ?
     
  5. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #5
    The PSU is fine, but it only exposes two 6pin connectors, limiting you to 225W. Your Hawaii card is a 275W TDP GPU, so it'll most likely shut down your Mac Pro when running demanding stuff.
     
  6. hrfat thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    #6
    is there any solution for this ? What can i do ?
     
  7. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #7
    There are various solutions, e.g.
    • PSU modification
    • external PSU for your GPU
    • using additional power from SATA connectors
    • undervolting the GPU & decreasing the power target (requires VBIOS edits, not sure if public tools allow modifying R9 390 VBIOS)
    Most obvious solution: Stick with a properly supported GPU
     

Share This Page