Sapphire RX580 PULSE ports question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by skaman.tx, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. skaman.tx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    #1
    I have had the Sapphire RX580 Pulse installed in a mid-2012 Mac Pro 5,1 for a number of months now. Works fine, albeit with the "no boot screen" quirk as is well-known. My challenge with this card began on the last update in High Sierra to 10.13.6. Before the update, I was using both display port-outs on the card with no issues on dual Dell UP2718Q monitors. After the update, only the HDMI ports on the card appear to be providing a signal to the monitors. After upgrading to Mojave, same curiosity persists. Not a huge issue, but certainly one that has me scratching my head. Has anyone else experienced this or a similar issue?
     
  2. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #2
    Just to be sure, yours is truly a Sapphire Pulse 580 and not some other brand of 580, correct?

    Is it the 4GB or 8GB?

    You might try a PRAM reset (hold command+option+P+R on the keyboard as soon as you hear the boot chime. Hold them until you hear a second boot chime.)

    I assume you've tried just one monitor on both DisplayPorts?

    Are the monitors set to DisplayPort 1.2? You can try toggling that setting in the monitor menu to see if it makes any difference.
     
  3. skaman.tx, Oct 3, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2018

    skaman.tx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    #3
    Yes, genuine Sapphire Pulse RX580, 8GB. I have tried a multitude of things, including reset PRAM, reset NVRAM, swap the card to PCI x16 slot 2, swapped out display cables, and updated firmware on the monitors. I've searched through the monitor menus and I cannot find anywhere to toggle between DP 1.1 and 1.2. Seems it is just DP. Funny thing is that it worked on DP just fine prior to the 10.13.6 update. I have read in another online post where someone was experiencing a similar issue. Their solution was to just stick with HDMI, which is OK. But I thought I'd bring the issue here to see what all the experts might have to suggest.

    Again, I can live with HDMI only. I just find it odd that this is happening. Here's what shows on System Report.

    Radeon RX 580:

    Chipset Model: Radeon RX 580
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    Slot: Slot-2
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Dynamic, Max): 8192 MB
    Vendor: AMD (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x67df
    Revision ID: 0x00e7
    Metal: Supported, feature set macOS GPUFamily2 v1

    Displays:

    DELL UP2718Q:
    Resolution: 5120 x 2880 (5K/UHD+ - Ultra High Definition Plus)
    UI Looks like: 2560 x 1440 @ 60 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 24-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: 73K0276MCXXX
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No

    DELL UP2718Q:
    Resolution: 5120 x 2880 (5K/UHD+ - Ultra High Definition Plus)
    UI Looks like: 2560 x 1440 @ 60 Hz
    Framebuffer Depth: 24-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Display Serial Number: 73K0279BCXXX
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Rotation: Supported
    Automatically Adjust Brightness: No
     
  4. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #4
    Ah I didn't realize the UP2718Q was a 5K monitor. I wonder if that has something to do with it. I'm using the P2715Q (which is 4K) over DP with no problem on HS 10.13.6 and Mojave 10.14.0.

    It would be interesting if you have a spare drive to reinstall 10.13.5 (or any earlier version than 10.13.6) and see if your monitors start working again. Then you can prove 100% that the problem relates to changes made in 10.13.6 (as opposed to some other cause that just coincidently happened when you upgraded to 10.13.6).

    Wish I had some other suggestions. Maybe someone else will.
     
  5. skaman.tx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    #5
    That's a pretty good idea. I'm going to give that a shot just for grins.

    NB: I did do a clean install of Mojave on a separate disk just to see if something I have in my daily setup was causing it. Alas, same results.
     
  6. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #6
    Well now I'm really confused. Googling for the UP2718Q shows that it is a 4K monitor with native resolution of 3840x2160. But the info you pasted from System Profiler shows them as 5K 5120x2880.

    I'm not sure if that's just a cosmetic issue in System Profiler or if it relates to your issue with the DP ports, but thought I would point it out just in case. If you do get a pre-10.13.6 version installed and the monitors work properly with DP, see what System Profiler reports for their resolution. It should be 3840x2160.
     
  7. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    5k is the "rendering resolution", as long as the GPU can handle it, this is fine.

    The system profile will display that because OP selected 2560x1440 HiDPI setting. Therefore, the OS need to render everything at 2560x2 x 1440x2 (this is the Apple way to do it). That page won't shows the real resolution for signal transmission.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 4, 2018 ---
    Even I don't think it will make any difference, but just wonder why you install the card in slot 2?
     
  8. ibarnett macrumors regular

    ibarnett

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #8
    I have Saphire RX580 Nitro & have had a run around with DP cables to Asus MX34 monitor.
    Sometimes they work, sometimes not. Googled & tried disconnect & reconnect power to they monitor, then they work.
    Not the next day!
    No problems with HDMI also.
     
  9. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #9
    Interesting info, h98. Thanks.

    I really hate DisplayPort. It's such a crappy "standard". Compare with VGA, DVI, and even HDMI which have far fewer problems. Good luck to you, OP. Please follow up if you're able to solve this.
     
  10. skaman.tx, Oct 4, 2018
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2018

    skaman.tx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    #10
    I had the card in Slot 1, in fact always had my previous 5770 in Slot 1. I moved it to Slot 2 primarily to see if it had any affect on this DP issue. Just a hardware test I suppose, no other reason.

    Thanks bookem. I'll report back once I get HS 10.13.4 installed on another drive.
     
  11. skaman.tx thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2018
    #11
    So I installed HS 10.13.4 on a separate disk (actually restored an old backup from Feb 2018 to the separate disk). Voila! DP out works on the RX580 on both ports. Rebooted into my daily disk running Mojave and nothing....had to shift cables back to HDMI. So as I suspected, or so it would seem, something happened on the upgrade to HS 10.13.6 and thereafter to Mojave. I have no idea what could be the issue here.

    To reiterate my previous post, I did install a fresh copy of Mojave on a separate disk also just to see if something on my daily disk was the issue but still no DP out when booting into the fresh install.
     
  12. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #12
    Seems pretty clear cut then. I'd think the only thing to try at this point would be a different model of monitor that has a DP input. But I know not everyone has spare monitors just laying around. So if you can't easily test that then I'm not sure what else you can do.

    I can say that I have had no problems with Mojave on my Dell P2715Q, which is a 4K monitor just a generation older than yours.

    I would encourage you to report the bug to Apple. Since the RX 580 is their flagship "recommended" card (not to mention one they support more enthusiastically in an eGPU) they probably ought to know about it.

    https://bugreport.apple.com
     
  13. stiwi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    I just installed this card in my Mac Pro . I don't have DisplayPort cable, since my Dell U2717D arrived with mDP to DP cable. mDP is not supported by Sapphire RX580 PULSE, just a regular DP cable. So I have connected one older monitor using DVI - it works, while U2717D via HDMI - it works as well.

    Does it make any difference if it is DisplayPort or HDMI cable for U2717D running on this card in resolution of 2560 x 1440?
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors G5

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    RX580 should able to deliver 2560 x 1440 @60Hz via HDMI in macOS now. If that works natively, then IMO, no need Display Port connection.

    Before Apple provide HDMI 2.0 support, 2560 x 1440 via HDMI will stuck at 30Hz, then Yes, Display Port connection make a big difference.
     
  15. bookemdano macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    #15
    Just FYI you can use that mDP to DP cable. Your U2717D has a mDP input, so you would plug the mDP end to the monitor and the DP end to the RX 580. That's what I did with my P2715Q and it's been working great.
     
  16. stiwi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Location:
    Singapore
    #16
    You are right, why did I not think of that? :)
    Thanks.
     
  17. Loa macrumors 68000

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #17
    Sorry to divert this thread a bit, but I was considering buying a up2718q monitor. I'd really like to get a mini review of how it looks on a mac. Does the HDR functions work well?

    Thanks.
     

Share This Page

16 October 3, 2018