sata 150 and sata 300 drive compatibility

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Luis Ortega, Oct 7, 2009.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    If I have a laptop with a sata 150 capability, can I use a sata 300 drive in it?
    I assume that it would run at sata 150 performance, but is it compatible?
    Would I be able to benefit from the larger cache size? Would it tend to run cooler? Any other possible benefits or drawbacks?
    The selection of sata 300 laptop drives is greater than the sata 150 now, and many of them offer a larger cache size (32mb instead of 16 mb).
    Thanks for any advice.
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. rhyx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  4. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #4
    Does this mean that a SATA 300 will run like a SATA 150? That would be a waste of money.

    Dale
     
  5. Guiyon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    North Shore, MA
    #5
    Not really as a single, consumer-grade mechanical drive is not yet capable of saturating a SATA150 channel, much less a SATA300 one; this goes doubly so for 5400RPM laptop drives. However, a SSD or a high-speed mechanical HD (ie: Raptor, Velociraptor, etc.) is perfectly capable of saturating a SATA150 channel.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    That's true. Only few hard drives are able to transfer data over 187.5MB/s (SATA150's max), but most SSDs will lose their speed if used in SATA150. BTW, Raptors use SAS interface (at least mostly) and it's able to transfer 6Gbits/s (750MB/s)
     

Share This Page