Sata 3 Sata raid 0

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by enny001, Apr 6, 2015.

  1. enny001 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #1
    Can have sata 3 and sata western D HD in raid 0 or they both have to be same sata 3 for best performance

    Thanks
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    If you are talking about OSX software RAID. You can RAID 0 whatever you want (e.g. a USB stick + HDD + eSATA SSD).
     
  3. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #3
    software raid so there is no speed decrees if it is sata 3 or sata
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    In your case, I am quite sure there is no real world performance degradation.
     
  5. enny001 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2013
    #5
    hi

    Hi i am running davinchi resolve and i am looking for raid solution for HD RAW color grading i was thinking

    2 128gb Corsair Force Series 3 CSSD raid 0 or 2 1tb WD HD raid 0. If i go with ssd i would keep my raw files on 1tb HD and just transfer what i need on ssd. Or just stick with WD HD

    Thanks
     

Share This Page