SATA 3 SSD in PowerMac G5

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Ih8reno, Jul 26, 2014.

  1. Ih8reno macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #1
    Would a sata 3 ssd fit in a powermac g5? Almost bought one today but not sure about if it would work. Restocking fee if it doesn't

    Thanks!
     
  2. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #2
    Will it fit, physically? Yes. You would need to secure it to something or get a caddy to put it in.

    Will it work? No. PPC doesn't support SATA III drives for booting. You may be able to get it to work as a storage device. But you cannot install the OS on it and get it to boot.
     
  3. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #3
    It would fit, but it may not work as some SATA III drives do not work in PowerPC Macs.
     
  4. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  5. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #5
    Yes, only SATA I or II. You can find some from Intel, OCZ and Crucial, which are ones I'm familiar with.
     
  6. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #6
    Some SATA 3 drives work correctly, if the drive has a SATA 2 compatibility mode. Most SATA 3 SSDs do not have this mode and thus cannot be used a PowerPC Mac's native SATA 1 ports.
     
  7. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #7
    Which ones are they? I know that the Samsung's do not, through experience.
     
  8. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    I think a few Seagate hard drives work correctly.
     
  10. Ih8reno thread starter macrumors 65816

    Ih8reno

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    #10
    I found a sata 2 owc 60gb in my area, so that would work
     
  11. 128keaton macrumors 68020

    128keaton

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #11
    Yes, it would.
     
  12. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #12

    Some SATA III SSDs are indeed compatible with PowerPC era Macs. There is nothing that isn't supported about them. Many have problems and since the most a PPC Mac ever shipped with was SATA I most people generally say stick with SATA I or II drives.
     
  13. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #13
    Do you know which ones are supported? I'm interested to know, just for the sake of knowledge.
     
  14. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #14

    I think the lower end Kingston's work. I always just say SATA II so I don't know the model numbers off the top of my head.
     
  15. HarCees macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    #15
    Ok just saw this thread so I feel like I should give some input.

    I run a SATA-3 SSD on my G5 as a boot drive and I know other that does as well. (dual boot Tiger and Lion)
    Samsung Evo works, and I think the newer ones from Crucial works as well, but I can't confirm this. Anyway, stay away from the sandforce controller chip.

    These days people have more than one computer at home, and therefore often at least one SSD, so it shouldn't be hard do find out other SSD's that are compatible.

    EDIT: And no, Kinston SSDnow does not work.
     
  16. Cox Orange, Nov 5, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2014

    Cox Orange macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #16
    I know, it's been a few days, but...
    Is this a mistake or do you really mean "Lion"?

    A G5 (in other words PowerPC-Mac) and Lion is mutually exclusive. Just saying...


    PS: on topic: I remembered there was a similar topic some days ago. I was talking about a bridge adapter that converts SATA-III to SATA-II, but I don't know which one it was. I guess you would have to find user "laterne" and ask him, because he found that adapter. (link to the topic discussed a few days ago: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?p=20216409#post20216409, there is also the link, where laterne mentioned that adapter, but I can't find it now.)
     
  17. MacGuy1985 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    #17
    very few SATAIII drives work in powerPC macs, tracking one down would be hard
     

Share This Page