"SATA II" without jumpers in PowerMac G5?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by cube, Jul 4, 2009.

  1. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #1
    Can one use a "SATA II" hard disk that has no jumpers and it configured for 3 Gbps mode (or AHCI?) in the PowerMac G5 (eg, Samsung, where configuring to 1.5 Gbps can only be done via a Windows tool).

    Thanks
     
  2. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #2
    Well....the G5's sata controller is of the 1.5GB/s spec, but the drive is backwards-compatible and will still work, just not at 3GB/s speeds......

    I run a 3GB/s drive and controller card in my G4 QS neveranottaproblemo :eek:
     
  3. cube thread starter macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #3
    The question is if the drive has to be set at 1.5 Gbps or the Mac will autoconfigure it. There are drives which come configured at 1.5 Gbps, even if they support 3 (the right thing to do).
     
  4. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #4
    I used 3gbps drives in my G5 and had a setting for either one. I used the 3.0 setting and never had any problems. The controller will just work at 1.5gbps and not the 3.0 even if the jumper is set for the faster speed.
     
  5. Dr.Pants macrumors 65816

    Dr.Pants

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #5
    And personally, I wouldn't think the SATA-I bus is even saturated by a single hard disc anyrate.
     

Share This Page