MP 7,1 SATA ports on 2019 Mac Pro?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by strukt, Jun 5, 2019.

  1. strukt macrumors regular

    strukt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
    #1
    Whats up with the SATA ports in the Apple PR material?

    I have tried looking at the tech specs, but dont see any mention about SATA in the material on Apples website?

    Anyone know anything about these ports?

    2019-06-05 13_03_37-Mac Pro - Design - Apple.png
     
  2. digidow macrumors newbie

    digidow

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #2
    I had the same question. Then this was announced, so it looks like the new Mac Pro will be able install 3.5 drives. Awesome!
    https://www.promise.com/us/Promotion/PegasusStorage
     
  3. roobarb! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3
  4. eyeangle macrumors regular

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #4
    There are only 2 SATA ports and the Pegasus R4i can hold 4 hard drives. How will the other two hard drives be powered? Is there enough power coming out of the PCI-E to power all four?
    --- Post Merged, Jun 5, 2019 ---
    I agree, the feet don't look there best- maybe there will be other feet made by 3rd parties.
     
  5. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #5
    R4i is a RAID card included with it in the middle.

    J2i is the two disk tray that mounts at the top and uses these SATA ports.
     
  6. roobarb! macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #6
    Well, they did say there'd be wheels. :)
     
  7. strukt thread starter macrumors regular

    strukt

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Location:
    Norway
  8. keith57 macrumors newbie

    keith57

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    North Wales
    #8
    This is fantastic! For those of us who still use SATA. Internally I prefer the BOD (Bunch of drives) approach. How many can I put inside the thing, is it four like the old one?
     
  9. eyeangle macrumors regular

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #9
    Thanks for clearing that up. :)

    I'm just curious, with a RAID card like this, is it possible to use it as a normal drive enclosure without RAID? ie: mount all four drives as seperate individual drives on the desktop?
     
  10. keith57 macrumors newbie

    keith57

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    North Wales
    #10
    Yes, just 4 ordinary drives on the desktop would be great
     
  11. killawat macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #11
    At this point it's a toss up between either. Usually in order to get the performance benefits of hardware raid you lose all the ability to run single drives that pass through smart status and other information. A less than optimal work around is to create individual volumes through the controller consisting of an individual drive each, but in 2019 that's clunky and should be unnecessary.

    We see this all the time in the home file server community where someone will grab an old $1000 raid controller for $50 on eBay and think they're good to go, but the hardware offers no way for the application (i.e. freenas, macOS) to see the drives individually. In this case, the dumber (not necessarily cheaper) cards work best because there's no raid controller taking control of the disks.

    If someone is seriously interested in a simple 4 disk SATA backplane from Promise then email them and let them know.
     
  12. digidow macrumors newbie

    digidow

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #12
    I can see OWC, Sonnet, or similar stepping up with their own simple/basic 3.5 "modular" deal.
     
  13. ReanimationLP macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #13
    Almost all RAID controllers support JBOD. You'd have to reformat them as it appears that their solution comes with all 4 drives pre-fitted in a RAID5.
     
  14. bzollinger macrumors 6502a

    bzollinger

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    #14
    I too am interested in this subject. The internal storage limitations are a deal breaker/maker for me and the new cheese grater.
     
  15. keith57 macrumors newbie

    keith57

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    North Wales
    #15
    I did just this. Promise tell me they will be releasing more information at the IBC Conference in Amsterdam from the 13th to the 17th of September.

    https://show.ibc.org/IBCConference
     
  16. MatrixRabbit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    #16
    In terms of power, there shouldn't be any issues. It seems interesting they're populating with 8TB drives, when my desktop has all 14TB HGST models which weren't all that expensive.

    There is always the Pegasus3 R8, which is a great way to have 112TB of storage (84 if you use RAID 6).
     
  17. rpmurray macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2017
    Location:
    Back End of Beyond
    #17
    Which desktop would that be? The cMP Mac Pros seem to have issues with HDDs not mounting after restart when using the larger HGST HDDs, but not when starting from a cold boot.

    You can get a 12TB HGST HDD for half the price of the 14TB.
     
  18. MatrixRabbit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    #18
    I have a Falcon Northwest Mach V, paid about $8,000 for it. It is built like a tank, and has 6 pre-wired HDD slot bay's. For Mac storage, the Pegasus has always been extremely nice.

    It's not a Mac, but my next choice will either be another Mach V, or this Mac Pro. I've not once had one issue with a hard drive and I've paid about $380 for each of my 14's. Western Digital always has 20% student discounts.
     
  19. danwells macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    #19
    The other nice option for storage on the new Mac Pro is that PCIe cards offerin a bunch of NVMe SSD (up to at least 4 per card) slots aren't terribly expensive, and they use surprisingly little power (one board with a RAID controller uses about 8W for the board itself, then 4-8W per drive).

    There's really no reason to pay for expensive Apple SSDs beyond whatever needs to be on the boot drive - I'd be shocked if it'll boot off of something in a PCIe slot (if it will, there's no reason to upgrade from the 256 GB SSD - use it for whatever random purpose and boot off a PCIe drive). Especially in RAID, drives on a card will be just as fast. This is actually a real advantage of the Mac Pro over a similarly configured iMac Pro - you can do the same thing with Thunderbolt with a $299 4 slot case, but 4 NVMe drives are an awful lot for a Thunderbolt 3 connection to support, but no problem for even PCIe x8, let alone x16.

    Why would spinning drives go inside the case? The Promise adapters certainly allow it, but I'm having trouble seeing the purpose. It takes a lot of hard drives to saturate a Thunderbolt 3 or 10 Gb Ethernet connection, and it's easy enough to throw the noisy drives in a case that can be tucked in a cabinet connected by Thunderbolt 3 or better yet in a closet over 10 Gb Ethernet? Those adapters won't be cheap - as limited production items, they'll probably be more expensive than a $300 4-bay Thunderbolt case, and they might well be as expensive as an entry-level 10 Gb NAS, which start around $600. If you're only looking for a drive or two, enterprise-class drives are available in USB 3.1 cases for only about $50 more than they cost as internals - there's no way the Promise adapter will be that cheap, is there?
     
  20. deconstruct60 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    #20
    Is the RAID working set RAM backed up? How much RAM do they have for the working set mapping?

    Also wondering if tapping into the MPX bay power supply or just the75W power of the standard slot. Spining up a larger number of platters probably has a bigger initial spike load.


    It may be though that they won't sell it 'drive less" so making folks by four 8TB if they want to re-stuff with 14TB just puts a floor under the price point of the device. Good enough for many and folks who want to go big get 4 extra drives to perhaps use elsewhere.

    Plus that is probably easier to put a UPS power back up on than 1.4KW.
     
  21. MatrixRabbit macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    #21
    Danwells- what's your product recommendation for someone that already has a bunch of 14TB drives? Running CAT6/TB3 to a closet is a non-option. I need a noise-less solution, which seems most logical to have it in the "noise-less" Mac Pro.
     
  22. JesterJJZ macrumors 68020

    JesterJJZ

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    #22
    I’m pretty sure someone will make a simple diskless 4 drive jbod mpx module. Sonnet or OWC likely candidates.
    Same with the 2 drive one.
     

Share This Page

21 June 5, 2019