SATA power optical bay 2012 model

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pyzon, Nov 28, 2012.

  1. pyzon macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #1
    Couple of questions:

    1. Does anyone know if the data and power spare SATA cable in the optical bay of at 2012 Mac Pro is separated or joined?

    (searched for vids/info etc..but having a tough time)

    Reason I'm asking (don't have Pro yet - on the way), I wanted to install a 2nd drive on the Apricorn Velocity x2 card in the optical bay using the power there and I'm not sure if I need to split the existing spare power cable so I can use it on the drive or if it is already split from the data cable. If I need a Y-Power splitter any good linkages?

    2. how long would the Sata data cable need to be from the PCIe slots up to the optical bay (not as the crow flies) but neatly managed behind fan etc.

    Cheers! can't wait to get my hands dirty :)
     
  2. pyzon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #2
  3. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    1m will be the perfect length with a little bit of play.

    ----------

    I have a 2012 pro and the optical power/data is the same part as 2009/2010 - they're all joined.
     
  4. pyzon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    1mtr great thank you. and also for the info on the sata data/power in the optical bay.
     
  5. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
  6. All Taken macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Bit delayed its been answered above ;)
     
  7. letscopro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    I'm using the Velocity Solo X2 with 2 SSD's. The second SSD is mounted in the second optical bay. I had trouble trying to route the cable so I just ran it as shown in the image. Probably not the best thing to do, but it works.

    sata cable.jpg

    The other image shows the adaptor I used to get power to the SSD. I just had to snap off the tabs to get it to work.

    Power Cable Adaptor.jpg
     
  8. pyzon thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #8
    you had to run it that way because the data cable was too short or what reason did you have to do this? I don't like the look of it to be honest and prefer a neater approach.

    I went with 2 1mtr data Data cables and 2 y splitters I posted a link for, (well why have one when you can have two!)
     
  9. letscopro macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #9
    The cable was long enough but I couldn't figure out a another way to run it. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

    I agree, it doesn't look great, but it works and with the cover on I can't see it.
     
  10. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #10
    Use a hole in an optical bay, but you have to remove the power supply cables cover inside to see it !
     
  11. mokeiko macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    #11
    check this thread from Concord Rules

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1486752

    mokeiko
     
  12. albert1028 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #12
    You have to break off the tab, but if you want to salvage the optical sata ii, you cannot. I tried looking for a 22pin split connector,but it appears that there is no cable for it unless a person makes it for themselves.

    I feel that transintl.com dx4 combined with a SAS card is probably the best solution for adding the most drives with the cleanest solution.
     

Share This Page