Satisfied with 5K EXCEPT for the spontaneous reboots!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Cape Dave, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. Cape Dave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #1
    Have had about 8 or more over 3 weeks. This last time I was leaning back in my chair and reading a thread on this forum and BAM, black screen, reboot, and all opened up to where I was.

    Not fun! I sent to Apple the details.

    I cannot help but wonder what could possibly be causing this. Computer is running cool, 295s, i5, 512 SSD.

    Is otherwise fine. Anyone else have this?
     
  2. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #2
    Did you add or replace the RAM modules?
    It could be a memory issue.
     
  3. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #3
    I'm sorry but there probably isn't anyone here that can definitely answer your question. But something sounds wrong. Try an OS reinstall. If it persists you might have to take it further.
     
  4. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #4
    Thanks. I get that. I did put in 16GB of Ram. Good Crucial Mac ram that matched. Cannot remember if it happened before that. I THINK it did.

    I wonder if it could have been a setting I brought over from the migration. I accidentally did check the "bring over computer settings" from the Carbon Copy Cone that I imported/migrated.

    So, maybe a fresh install is in order.

    It seems to happen approx once or twice per day. But maybe a day with none as well. And not at the same time of day.

    I got an extension from Apple for a few more days of deciding whether to keep it or not. Had not really has this issue yet.

    Such modern problems :)
     
  5. steve23094 macrumors 68000

    steve23094

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    #5
    I don't know what specifically is causing your reboots. But I don't think it's normal. The best chance you have is start from scratch and move on from there. But post back your results because it might help other people in future, I have been there and done that.
     
  6. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #6
    The new RAM could be seated incorrectly or defective. Take it out and see if this happens again. If it does, exchange it. Mine has never done this, not once.
     
  7. rainydays macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #7
    +1

    If it just goes black it's unlikely a software issue. The RAM might very well be the problem here.
     
  8. ra004e macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2009
    #8
    Just mentioning, base unit here with 32GB crucial ram (16GB ) from different batches and no lockups at all. Have maxed out the ram plenty of times. I don't push the CPU or GPU much.
     
  9. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #9
    This definitely sounds like a RAM issue.

    I've been using the Crucial DDR3L (PC3-12800) RAM (16GB) in my Late 2013 iMac alongside 16GB of Apple Elpida RAM. The first set I got from Amazon back in April was bad. It caused kernel panics and spontaneous rebooting. The replacement has been flawless ever since without one additional incident over the past 7 months.
     
  10. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #10
    Thanks. I will:

    1. See if it happens again.

    2. When it does, take out the 16GB I added and see if it still happens.

    3. report back when I have any new info.

    Appreciate the ideas/help.
     
  11. Onimusha370 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    #11
    running an i7, 295X, 1tb SSD config here. Bought the machine with 8gb of RAM and then added 16gb of crucial RAM myself, absolutely no problems whatsoever here. My guess would be a bad stick of RAM, so try taking out the extra that you put in and see what happens. If it persists, do a clean install :)
     
  12. jimgeo68 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    #12
    had issues with reboot also

    ordered with 8GB ram on the new 5k imac-
    would add my own ram after - adding 16gb

    all of sudden odd things would happen - screen would lock up slightly - meaning freeze - and massive vertical lines - sort of like traces of the existing lines would appear - with a different color -

    also while converting video from .mpeg or .avi to .mov - using an called smart converter pro - my system would crash - and reboot - i thought it might be the software ; however when i would remove the extra ram , then the problem would disappear and all worked fine.

    i returned the ram - since i had bought 2 8GB sticks - and bought a new "kit" of 8GB ram sticks - apparently i read somewhere that might make a difference - which i never understood how.

    with the new kit ram of 8GB x 2 , installed, all was fine, converted a bunch more .mpeg and .avi files to .mov with same app - and all went smooth.

    vertical lines also gone.

    any one else experience same issues ? or similar issues ?
     
  13. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #13
    I am taking out the Ram I put in as we speak. Was showing the imac to friend as he had never seen one and I had mentioned the rebooting issues. Sure enough, he goes to youtube and clocks play on a video and BAM!

    Reboot!

    It was good to have someone else see how damn disconcerting it is :)

    Shutting down now to take out Ram.

    I guess I can get by with 8GB for a bit for troubleshooting purposes.
     
  14. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #14
    OK, back to 8GB of Ram. Been all over YouTube and no crashes. So, time will tell.

    I'll do all my usual stuff for the next 3 days and see if the reboots have stopped.
     
  15. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #15
    Just when I thought I was out of the woods, it happened again. Soon after waking from sleep. Out of the blue... BOOM.

    I took out the Ram and have already returned it :(

    This is disconcerting. A reason to return in my book.

    I may do a fresh install of OSX. Then reload all software. And in the mean time boot from a 512GB external SSD that I have.

    Sheesh. Not how I really want to spend my time.

    I am ALMOST back to a new Mac mini or a Mac Pro. An then a lesser monitor :(. Darn.
     
  16. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #16
    I futzed around with the power/sleep settings and now just turn off the monitor when I leave the office, rather than put it to sleep.

    So far, no reboots. I'll see if I can get thru a full day.
     
  17. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #17
    You shouldn't have to be worrying about such things. I suggest a system wipe, factory RAM only, and don't bring over any settings like you did. That may well be the issue. If it still craps out, return it. It should not crash, ever.
     
  18. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #18
    Yes, I agree. Still, no issues yet. I wanted to see if there was anything I could do short of a full re-install that would make a difference. If nothing else, it would help narrow down the issue.

    If in fact it IS a sleep related issue, I am glad to now that. Truth is, so many computers have sleep issues I usually do not even use that feature.

    I like the hot corner I setup which turns off the monitor.

    I will report back.

    And then, in my own time, I will do a re-install just because that is the correct way to do things.
     
  19. WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #19
    Sleep should also work 100% (though yes, sleep can be a real pain for a lot of reasons). Do you have any peculiar USB devices connected to your Mac? That's something that can cause a lot of screwy coming-out-of-sleep issues. You did say you were reading the forums when it crapped out, though, so... that's different.
     
  20. SaSaSushi macrumors 68040

    SaSaSushi

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Location:
    Takamatsu, Japan
    #20
    Freezing, spontaneous reboots and kernel panics are almost always a hardware issue and usually RAM-related.

    Apple's own RAM is not entirely immune to issues. Make sure the Apple module(s) are seated properly and I'd recommend you download a Memtest86 EFI bootable thumb drive. Run it in parallel CPU mode and see if you don't get any errors.

    Failing that, I'd recommend sending the machine back to Apple for replacement.
     
  21. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #21
    I have a USB wireless mouse and a USB keyboard. I do have an external USB SSD, but that has not been plugged in for the past few days.

    ----------

    Thanks, I will check with that. Weird that it has been fine all last night and all day today!
     
  22. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #22
    OK, I am hereby stating that I am out of the woods. Have not spontaneously re-booted in almost 2 days.

    I changed some sleep settings so that it no longer goes to sleep.

    And I just hot corner the monitor off when I leave the home office.

    This leads me to believe that a fresh install may solve the issue entirely.

    Which, I will do, but on my own time.

    If I have tempted fate by this post, so be it. I will then seriously consider returning the machine.

    Assuming that my return window (another 4 days or so) has not closed :)
     
  23. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #23
    If I were you I would probably return the machine and get a replacement.
     
  24. Cape Dave thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #24
    Well, after almost 2 days, it rebooted.

    I thought I was doing a fresh install of OSX, but it just did an in place re-install. So, I guess I will install OSX from scratch maybe tomorrow.

    I put so much crap on to try it out I think that messes things up.

    Everything else about this one is so good, I am hesitant to exchange it as I might get one that is not as good. Which, I realize is crazy becasue if it does not reboot, then it is better.

    But this screen is perfect, temps and noise levels are perfect, so I really want to give it a chance.
     
  25. hfg macrumors 68040

    hfg

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
    #25
    When you put in the Crucial RAM you purchased, was that in addition to the RAM it came with, or did you remove the Apple supplied RAM and replace it with the Crucial parts?

    i.e. ... were there any times you experienced reboots and none of the original RAM was installed?
     

Share This Page