Saving automator workflow as Finder plugin

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jmfm, Jan 14, 2011.

  1. jmfm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #1
    I downloaded what looked like a useful script from the following page:

    http://mac.wareseeker.com/Utilities/extract-pages-from-pdf-1.0.5.zip/c8594b645

    If you notice, in that page it says that you can save the automator workflow as a Finder plugin. I've tried to follow the instructions but when I do 'save as', I only get two choices: 'workflow' or 'app'. I see no way of transforming this automator script into a Finder plugin. Can anybody lend me a hand?

    Josep M.
     
  2. mheidt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #2
    In 10.6 you need to create a new workflow as service.
    There are some options when the script will apply (File/Directory and Finder f.e)
    It is saved as service and if you did everything right it will show up as last item in the context menu of a file or folder.

    In 10.5 the save as plugin was still valid.
     
  3. jmfm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for the quick answer. Can this be done if the automator script was already created by someone else? What I have is a file with the extension .workflow and I want this to become a service so that when I click on a PDF file on Finder I can use this service to split the document into a number of pages. How can I do that if I have not created the script myself?

    I'm sorry for the ignorant question but I have never used Automator before and I don't seem to find an easy way to do that. Thanks for your help.

    JM
     
  4. mheidt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    #4
    Don't you see the content, when you open the .app with automator?
    Apparently you need to create a new workflow and rebuild it with the information you gained by watching into the .app.
    I can see the script-code of my .app which I generated with a .workflow. But I cannot change it anymore.
     
  5. jmfm thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    #5

    OK, I see. So it would be just a matter of copying the code from the original script and paste it into the newly created workflow, right? Thanks!

    JM
     

Share This Page