Saving the environment - NO new MacBook for me...

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by abernathymusic, Nov 24, 2008.

1. abernathymusic macrumors newbie

Apple's decision to drop Firewire has had an interesting effect on me - to Apple's detriment. I would have rushed out and bought this machine if it had FW. Now I've lost interest in buying ANY new Mac until I'm more clear about Apple's direction. This has helped me evaluate my consumerism/consumption/finances and basically slow down my spending. That's even better for the environment than aluminum and glass!

So this weekend I was hands-on with my first Uni-MacBook, setting it up for a client (I'm a full time Mac consultant). Lack of FW aside, I still don't like this Mac. Apple has gone overboard with form over function/comfort. Worst of all, Steve finally has the razor-sharp palmrest edge he's obviously been craving - yes it is pretty, and it actually hurts to use. Instead of carving out a little finger notch why didn't they just bevel the whole front edge? And with the trackpad positioned so close to the edge you are constantly scraping across the sharp metal. The trackpad takes just enough extra pressure to make it much harder to double-click - working on this Macbook for only an hour made my wrist problems flare up (which doesn't happen on my white MacBook). Also, the screen quality/viewing angle is surprisingly poor - I would assume the display quality is no worse than my old MacBook, but for some reason (the glass or the black surround?) it is more annoying. Couldn't Apple innovate with some kind of low-glare glass - there's something to put some R&D into.

Apple really seems to be focusing on showroom sexiness over usability. What is good about a highly reflective laptop screen, a super sharp palmrest edge, and less expansion (Firewire!)? My old white MacBook feels warm and fuzzy now - I'm taking extra good care of it!

2. Nykwil macrumors 65816

Nykwil