Saving window positions and sizes?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by kasakka, Dec 9, 2009.

1. kasakka macrumors 68000

I work with different resolution monitors at work and home. 22" 1920x1200 at work and 30" 2560x1600 at home. The problem is that OSX tends to throw the windows out of place on the 30" (connected via mini-DP to Displayport cable on my MBP 13") or resizes them to the 1280x800 size of the internal monitor after waking from sleep when connecting the 30" display at home.

Is there any program that would save and restore the window positions and sizes so I wouldn't have to rearrange them all the time?

2. rgrwatson85 macrumors newbie

I am completely new to the Mac OS, I don't even actually have one yet. Well I did, but long story. I was reading up a bit on Apple Script and if your willing to invest maybe an hour or so you could probably solve your problem. I found this intro to Apple Script which shows how to do exactly what you want...I think.

http://www.macosxautomation.com/applescript/firsttutorial/index.html

If that isn't what you are looking for then I apologize.

3. Gregg2 macrumors 603

It would be good of you to point out exactly where on that site you think the OP's goal is explained.

4. rgrwatson85 macrumors newbie

Well I would recommend reading all the way through the short tutorial because it is interesting, easy, and makes the user that much better with their computer. Check out the section called "The Position Property".

Like I said I don't even have my Mac yet, but I like to be prepared and know what I am doing with computers. If you made a super simple script like what they explain you should be able to run it and it will resize it all for you.

Let us know if it works for you kasakka!

5. kasakka thread starter macrumors 68000