Sawtooth upgrade info needed

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Zeke D, Jul 24, 2012.

  1. Zeke D macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    With all this talk of sawtooths, would I be able to put my dual 533 or single 733 in my sawtooth? will those CPUs even run at 100Mhz FSB? how worried do I have to be with cooling? The dual 533 and the 733 are both Digital Audio, so they have the fan assembly to exhaust out of the case. If I use the heat sink anyway, the exhaust will go into the case. How do I determine if my Sawtooth is Uni N Chipset
    of 7 or more?
     
  2. archtopshop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #2
    Here's a link to an app which will check the uni-n version of your Sawtooth.

    https://www.dropbox.com/sh/pwvdvxfaxzt89bd/EjZ7P9AVlW
     
  3. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #3
    Thanks for the link, I will need to put the sawtooth back togethrt to check it out.
     
  4. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #4
  5. archtopshop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    #5
    You're welcome. Good luck with the project.
     
  6. Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #6
    I decided there wouldn't be much of an advantage over just running the 733mhz DA. I guess I was just curious since several regulars just love their sawtooths.
     
  7. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #7
    You could get one more RAM slot and about 100-160 MHz of CPU frequency with overclocking the bus to 120 MHz.
    It would be a nice Sawtooth with 2GB RAM, decent graphics card and overclocked DA CPU.
     
  8. Zeke D, Aug 9, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2012

    Zeke D thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Zeke D

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Location:
    Arizona
    #8
    Here's what I have so far. Each of my DA733Mhz had a single 512MB stick in them, I swapped them for a pair of 256, and stuck the three dimms in the sawtooth. Laying around I have a DP533 and a SP733 out of a DA. I couldn't get the Radeon 9800 in there, cause the card physically wouldn't fit.
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page