Say Hello to Aspyr GameAgent: EA DRM on Crack

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by TDM21, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #1
    So after two years of waiting Aspyr finally released their GameAgent Digital Download Store. Now Mac users have the ability to purchase games online, download, and play them on their computers. My first thought was an equivalent to Steam, but I was wrong. I could explain it all the fun in store with GameAgent, but I will just let your read the article from Inside Mac Games.

    http://www.insidemacgames.com/news/story.php?ID=17015

    Basically there are only two mac games up on the store. DRM wise the games are locked to your mac, you only get one download (unless you pay an additional $5), and while you can deauthorize your mac you are limited to doing that only 2 more times. Very disappointing.
     
  2. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  3. Keleko macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    #3
    I guess they're not getting it with Steam out there doing the same thing only much better. I know I won't buy any games with their system set up that way.
     
  4. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    I don't like the way the interface is setup, It looks confusing. And it's nothing like Steam =( I was super excited when I saw it, and downloaded it straightaway.


    The logo doesn't seem to fit either, it looks more like a rejected GameVault logo.


    I sure hope Aspyr listens to their gamers.
     
  5. spyker3292 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    Michigan
  6. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #6
    Pay for additional downloads, so say my gaming drive craps out then I have to pay a little for the product again?

    Holy hell that's a terrible idea.

    NO! Steam does this for FREE. There is no 'insurance policy'... It isn't needed! It's a download service, don't try to scrimp a few extra £'s by inventing BS like that.
    And locked to your computer? Very weak. Steam locks it to your account - which can be played on any computer, just not simultaneously. That's how DRM should be these days. It's perfect DRM so long as you have an always-on internet connection.

    Needless to say this is a service I will never use.

    /needs to calm down on a game or 12 of TF2 on Steam.
     
  7. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #7
    I hope Apple picks up on this and offers their own Game Download Service (iTMS or A dedicated Application) locked to an account, just like Steam and free download in-case you ever need to, This could be perfectly implemented if Apple really wanted to.


    But alas, we know Apple doesn't really care about games all that much (Take the ValvE Project for example).
     
  8. txa1265 macrumors 6502a

    txa1265

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2002
    Location:
    Corning, NY
    #8
    Wow ... this looks like a policy that says 'we don't want your business'!
     
  9. capoeirista macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2007
  10. redelcamino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Location:
    Ohio
    #10
    I say Fail too, DRM on games really sucks. I will not buy any that contains it.
     
  11. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #11
    things like this make me want to fire up a P2P program, just out of spite.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    I will not buy ridiculous ones that limit the amount of times you can install it, but I don't mind the ones like what Source games use (tied to account only).
     
  13. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #13
    Steam works offline too. I've installed it recently and had no problems playing HL2 even when not online.
     
  14. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #14
    I've tried playing without a connection and it just tells me to check network settings, even though offline mode is enabled. Grr. Must have to fix that. Had 2 weeks without the internet back in Feb and couldn't play any of my games because they're all on Steam :eek:
     
  15. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #15
    Ah, that sucks. I've only had steam installed for three weeks or so (on Vista, if that matters), and haven't had any problems. (Maybe check for a client update, though you've probably thought of that.)

    Anyway, steam is great, and after years of playing nothing but UT2004, it's nice to see how the other side lives!
     
  16. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #16
    And because of that I had a tinker around with Steam and got it working in Offline mode :) Cheers!
     

Share This Page