SC2 and Civ5 on rMBP 13 (late 2013)

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Hog Milanese, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. Hog Milanese macrumors regular

    Hog Milanese

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #1
    Both play and run great on this machine (2.4 / 8GB). Resolution is at 1200x800 and it runs very fast, but even when you bump it up, it is still more than playable.

    The fans turn on, but they are quieter than on my old 13" Air, and they power down about 15-20 seconds after quitting the games.

    Very impressed. Not top performance by any means, but you can at least dabble with some decent games. I couldn't even load Civ5 on my Air, much less play it.
     
  2. Oirectine macrumors regular

    Oirectine

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #2
    Thanks!! I was wondering about these exact two games on this exact model! Perfect! :) can't wait for mine to arrive.
     
  3. ktc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #3
    As someone coming from the PC, are all the issues w/ Civ V on the Mac crashing resolved? Or would you still recommend bootcamping and doing Civ on Windows?

    Thx.
     
  4. Ryan1524 macrumors 65816

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #4
    Just ordered SimCity 2013 on Origin. Now I just need the rMBP.

    Next: SC2, Civ5, Metro, and Crysis.
     
  5. Hog Milanese thread starter macrumors regular

    Hog Milanese

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #5
    I never had crashing issues on my iMac. I couldn't play it at all on my old Air, but the rMBP runs it fine.
     
  6. acunit86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    #6
    I had problems a while back with my rMBP 15" under OS X, but they got fixed with an update a while back. I still play CIV 5 under bootcamp because it performs so much better--at least with the GT650m...I can not speak to the Intel graphics.
     
  7. ktc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #7
    Which Windows are you using? With all the hoopla about Bootcamp crashing, etc., are there updated Windows drivers for the 2013 MBPr chipset/hardware?
     
  8. Hog Milanese thread starter macrumors regular

    Hog Milanese

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest
    #8
    I'm using OS X.
     
  9. Oirectine macrumors regular

    Oirectine

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Location:
    Maryland
    #9
    Civ 5 Gold from Steam is working great on my 13" Iris rMBP. Most of the settings are at medium and low except for textures, which are on high. No issues with frame rate or lag. Starcraft 2 is still downloading.
     
  10. Ryan1524 macrumors 65816

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #10
    SC2 on high worked well.
    Simcity on medium worked well.
     
  11. ktc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #11
    Just wondering, what's the battery life with Civ 5 from a full battery?

    I'm assuming if there was a dGPU in there it would be done within an hour. :p
     
  12. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #12
    Awesome, thanks. SC2 is the only game I really play these days, and I just got this exact model, so good to hear!
     
  13. Tfb macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    #13
    Which Air did you have? I'm doing all right on my c2d and wondering how amazing it would be on a more powerful machine.
     
  14. ktc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #14
    Just set up Win7-64x on Bootcamp and installed Civ V. It looks kinda funny and doesn't go full window, etc.

    What Windows resolution and what game resolution are you guys running? Thx.
     
  15. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #15
    I hate fan noise !

    Question about Civ V on the rMBP.

    On what version of the rMBPs just released is there minimum fan noise when playing Civ V ? Is there a model where the fans just don't spin up ? Does it scale inversely to CPU/GPU power or does Civ just use higher settings on a more powerful rMBP ?

    I can play it on my 2011 13in MBA, but the fans go to max and stay there, so I quit after 15mins or so !
     
  16. Scott7975 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    #16
    Of course the fans are going to spin. Gaming pushes hardware hard. Hardware being pushed hard produces a lot of heat.
     
  17. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #17
    Yes, I know that but it's matter of degree. More recent hardware produces less heat per unit of work, so equivalent fans will spin less. Plus Apple has redesigned fans to be more effective plus Civ V is an oldish game. So at some point fans aren't going to spin up very much if the "work" remains the same as hardware improves.

    ----------

    How bearable is the fan noise on your rMBP ? Does the fan still max out ? On my 13in 2011 MBA Civ V is unplayable ! Headphones ?
     
  18. Mr MM macrumors 65816

    Mr MM

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    #18
    if someone can run rome 2 bench I would be very much grateful
     
  19. Lucky:) macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    #19


    You are right but when you install a game on a new machine with more performance the game will recognise this performance grow and will use it. In fact the fan will spin probably a little less but not as much as you aspect it but will run a lot faster and need less time to calc troop movements etc.

    Cheers Lucky
     
  20. luluhulu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    #20
    works decently

    No problem here, 1920 x 1200 and medium settings on late 2013 8gig 13" stock CPU.
    fps dip to 21 when big battle, otherwise sustained at mid 30s.
    All in all decent, definitely not worth the upgrade for a base 15" with iris pro when it comes to this game.
     
  21. thebrobrah macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    #21
    do the fans turn on in low settings?

    i dont mind sacrificing a little eye candy for peace and quiet
     
  22. CEmajr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #22
    I play SC4 on my Mac with Windows 7. It performs very well, but crashes more often than it did when I ran it on a Windows computer.

    My MBP is 13" 2.7GHz i7, 16GB RAM
     
  23. Ryan1524 macrumors 65816

    Ryan1524

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Location:
    Canada GTA
    #23
    The fans will never be louder than music or the game sounds. Have you actually ever sat next to an MBP? It doesn't roar like a jet engine like many PC laptops do.
     
  24. Meister Suspended

    Meister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    #24
    Shouldnt you mean simcity 2000?
    Sc2000 is old but sc2 is really really old!
     
  25. Capital Inertia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #25
    I play Civ 5 (Mac Native) with Iris Pro on 15in. The fans do spin 2 mins. after loading game. But its not that loud and its only noticeable because the fan hardly ever spin for video streaming \ internet other wise. I'm very happy with performance. I play in strategic view most of the time so I really like the high res… If you play some music or book on tape you'll forget about fans. The laptop does get a little hot so I like to put a book under it to help it stay cool. Also I haven't timed it but you can play more then an hour on battery on Retina 15.
     

Share This Page