Scan an IP range on my network

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Foxile, May 28, 2008.

  1. Foxile macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #1
    I had to set my NAS as DHCP for it;s IP address, but my crappy Ericsson 3G router doesn't let me query the IP address of attached devices.

    Is there a command from within Terminal that I can use to scan a range of possible IP addresses ??
     
  2. costabunny macrumors 68020

    costabunny

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    ~/bunny/
    #2
    I am no expert here - but generally when I get a device in that needs 'finding', I put one of my machines on DHCP and then see what address I get given, Most DHCP servers wil hand out IP addresses in sequence so I try pinging a few either side.

    If I dont get a hit then I fire up a linux lve disk and use its 'ping -b 255.255.255.255' command to broadcast a ping. As long as the device responds to this kind of ping; the output will show all iPs on the network that have answered the broadcast.

    I am sure there are utils to do this, but I have never needed to go beyond the linux method.

    hope this helps a little bit.

    EDIT: a quick google turns up this - 'ping x.y.z.255' where x.y.z is the network range. Eg my network is on the 10.10.10.x range (every machine has an index replacing 'x'. That command will do the broadcast style ping I just mentioned. Only four machines on my network reply to this method (but one of them is my NAS so there is hope)
     
  3. Foxile thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #3
    Thanks

    I tried pinging a couple of IP addresses either side of my system *.*.*.20 but nothing pops up.

    Strange thing is using that ping command you found on Google just throws up a ping reply from my system, yet I know the NAS is working and connected, because I can access folder on it.

    Maybe the fact I'm using wireless for net access and LAN for NAS is confusing it all ??
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    Install fink and then install nmap.

    Use nmap to scan the subnet and return any responses.
     
  5. Poeben macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    #5
    Do you know the host name of your NAS? If so try this in terminal:

    host <yourNAShostname>

    This will display the ip of the host. For example:

    host myNAS.local

    will display something like this

    myNAS.local has address 192.168.1.34
     
  6. donmei macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2007
    #6
    You can set your router to provide the nas as a dhcp client but still manually configure an IP address.

    In your routers config, you should be able to set the NAS's IP address manually. It will still be dhcp, i.e. it will still get its ip from the router, but the router will recognize the NAS by its MAC address and assign it the same IP every time.

    I do this all the time. All my clients are standard dhcp. 192.168.0.2 +1, +1, etc.

    All my devices that provide services: NAS, Music server, network printers, managable switches, etc all are manually assigned, dhcp devices counting down from 192.168.0.250.

    So everything on the high end is fixed and everything on the low end is dynamic.

    by the way, the mac address of the nas is physically on the device, usually a sticker. If you PM me I can send you a screen shot of the router screens.
     

Share This Page