Scan problems following new router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Madwitch, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. Madwitch macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #1
    Hi. I have a Brother DCP J4110DW all in one printer/scanner and a 2013 Macbook Air running Yosemite. I recently changed my isp (and router) and had to manually install the printer. (Add printer didn't find it). I can print without any problems but when I try to scan, it says "check connection". The Wifi is connected (otherwise I wouldn't be able to print). I've reset the printer network; I've uninstalled and reinstalled the printer (which interestingly doesn't show up in the list of printers available). Printing still fine, but I need to be able to scan! All worked OK before I changed isp - the printer used to show up as a Bonjour printer but doesn't any more. Anyone got any ideas? TIA
     
  2. LiveM macrumors 6502a

    LiveM

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    #2
    Scanners don't generally work connected this way, sorry.
     
  3. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #3
    Sounds like you need to connect to the printer using a wired connection to scan.

    Ethernet or USB...
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Brother has some troubleshooting steps here that might help you.

    The fact is does not show up in the add printer list makes me think the Mac is not seeing it on the network properly. Maybe delete the wifi pairing from the printer then reconnect?
    --- Post Merged, Apr 9, 2016 ---
    Sure they do. I have a Brother all in one and it scans over wifi just fine. OPs also supports this.
     
  5. Madwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #5
    Thanks everyone. Have tried all the Brother troubleshooting steps to no avail. Doesn't even work if I connect via USB. Not sure how to unpair printer - any advice? Thanks
     
  6. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #6
    That sounds more like a driver issue then if it won't even work over USB. Have you tried removing the printer and any drivers you can find then reinstall all the printer and scanner drivers form Brother, then readd the printer.
     
  7. Madwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #7
    Thanks. Sorry to be a bit thick - is this just dragging them to trash? Where can I find the drivers? Cheers!
     
  8. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #8
    The easiest way is to use something like iFileX to search for Brother and remove everything that way.

    You can see my results here. You can do this with Finder also, but you have to mess around changing the default settings to see system files and it is a hassle. I find it easier just to use iFileX for the search.

    Screen Shot 2016-04-10 at 1.20.46 PM.png
     
  9. Madwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #9
    Thanks for that. I've used iFileX and removed everything with a reference to Brother. I've restarted my mac and reinstalled the drivers for printer and scanner. Unfortunately still not working - for some reason my mac can't see the printer and can't even set it up as a Bonjour printer :(
     
  10. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #10
    Ackk! :confused:

    I'm kinda out of ideas beyond the obvious that that router does not play well with wifi scanning for some reason.
     
  11. Madwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #11
    Ah. Will just have to do without a scanner for now then! Thanks for all your help though :)
     
  12. Madwitch thread starter macrumors newbie

    Madwitch

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Location:
    North Yorkshire, UK
    #12
    Well - I'm not sure what I've done but I've got it working again! (albeit via USB but that's better than nothing).
    Thanks all for your help.
     

Share This Page