Scanner issue

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by X1Lightning, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. X1Lightning macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #1
    I use fireworks for all my Graphical work, and on my mac, i cant get fireworks to see my scanner, so i thought it was that my scanner was just not compatible with mac, then an found an app called VueScan, and downloaded the demo, and with it my scanner works flawlessly on my mac. but they want $80 for the full version, kinda high when fireworks should just be working.

    Anyone know what i can do to get my scanner to work directly with fireworks? or do i need to buy this software for scanning?
     
  2. skybolt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, USA
    #2
    Have you tried scanning via Image Capture? Not knowing what scanner you have makes recommendations difficult. But it may work with Image Capture, or do you have Photoshop or PS Elements? Scanning is supported by those programs as well.
     
  3. BaronvdB macrumors 6502

    BaronvdB

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #3
    I have a fujitsu scanner (not scansnap) that's not mac compatible....i may give that vuescan a try and see if it will work...i spent $600 on the scanner so if I have to spend $80 more on the software to be able to use it again I probably will...unless i find something free that also works.
     
  4. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #4
    the scanner i have is a CanoScan N1240U and according to cannon it is mac compatible, i haven't tried photo shop, i guess i figured if it didn't work in fireworks it wasn't going to work in Photoshop, I'll try that tonight and see.
    what is Image Capture? is that somthing built into OS X?
     
  5. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #5
    here is the link to vuescan software http://www.hamrick.com/
     
  6. skybolt macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN, USA
    #6
    Image Capture is an app that probably came with your mac. Look in your applications folder. Is there some reason the Canon software does not work for you? I use a Canon scanner and their software/drivers works fine. Check their site for update drivers, etc.
     
  7. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #7
    i downloaded the mac drivers for the scanner a few months ago, and they didn't work, so i gave up. I'll download from cannon again, maybe they were updated.
     
  8. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #8
    I tried image capture, and that doesn't see my scanner, so i downloaded cannon tool box and the latest driver, and it does not work, it cant see the scanner. guess i have to buy vuescan
     
  9. BaronvdB macrumors 6502

    BaronvdB

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    #9
    well, vuescan doesn't work...i have the fujitsu fi-5110c and it's not on their compatibility list..i tried it anyway but it didn't work..i also tried YEP!, which looks really cool but that didn't work either.
     
  10. X1Lightning thread starter macrumors 6502

    X1Lightning

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    #10
    wow that is one expensive scanner!
    by looking at a picture of it i would have never guessed that was a 600$ machine....
     

Share This Page