scanner suggestions

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by frankm007, Apr 17, 2007.

  1. frankm007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #1
    im looking for an economic scanner to scan my photos, nothing too professional... suggestions?
     
  2. frankm007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #3
    looks great, how about the software? mac version, or what can i use?
     
  3. iKwick7 macrumors 65816

    iKwick7

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Location:
    The Wood of Spots, NJ
    #4
    Not to thread jack, but in line with your question-

    Can anyone recommend good scanning software? I use my Samsung laser all-in-one to scan picutres, works great but has HORRIBLE software- by horrible software I mean pc only software. I use photoshop to "import" an image from the scanner, but I know there has to be a better way.

    Also- are there any 4x6 only scanners out there? That would be tremendous.
     
  4. orangemacapple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Location:
    Raleigh
    #5
    the canon comes with photostudio for mac and other scanning software to scan with. works great.

    the 3 touch buttons on the scanner work great -- copy,scan,fax
     
  5. frankm007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #6
    I got the scanner! Now, is there anyway to scan without the software? Through photoshop somehow...thanks
     
  6. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    I recently purchased a Canon CanoScan 8600F scanner. I installed Canon's software. With the scanner's TWAIN driver, however, it works with any TWAIN-compatible app. Far and away, Apple's MacOS X-bundled app Image Capture works best.
     
  7. frankm007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    #8
    i tried apple's "image capture" and despite it recognizing the scanner, i could not select from any option (e.g. DPI, etc.) and the "scan" button was greyed out. Suggestions?
     
  8. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    After Image Capture goes through its startup procedure including a prescan, it will un-"gray" its controls. You will then be able to change the resolution and other settings.
     

Share This Page