Scanning HIBC Barcodes

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Milfin, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. Milfin macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #1
    I have a macbook pro and using parallels.

    I'm having trouble with both OS reading (scanning) barcodes.
    Now if I scan the same barcode on a windows system it will read the barcode correctly..

    The barcodes are just regular HIBC format. What I'm seeing is that it does not reads some characters and changes + to *

    Can anyone help?
     
  2. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #2
    I'm confused how you're scanning barcodes with your computer?
     
  3. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #3
    There are plenty of USB scanners available…
    Like these.
     
  4. Milfin thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
  5. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    I don't know if it will make a difference, but can you tell parallels (you can with Fusion) to directly attatch itself to the usb barcode device instead of accepting keyboard input from OS X?
     
  6. kgeier82 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #6
    if you really want to get that scanner working 100%, I say skip parallels, install XP, and use bootcamp.

    Stuff like that, from what Ive read, always has issues in a VM.

    Thats not to say you cant get it to work eventually the way you intend, or at all for that matter. My way is just easier :)
     

Share This Page