ScanSnap in Black

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by elefantrider, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. elefantrider, Jun 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012

    elefantrider macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #1
    Has anyone been successful in getting the black S1500 version to work with Mac?

    Fujitsu has a dedicated white S1500M version for Mac but I prefer the black one. The way it is marketed, the black one is for PC and the white one is for Mac.

    Would I be missing any functionality by going with the black one?

    Chris
     
  2. gblakeb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    #2
    ScanSnap S1500 definitely works on Mac. The only thing that I can think of that you will be losing is the additional software outside of the ScanSnap software. The 1500M comes with Adobe Acrobat 8 or maybe 9 for Mac. It's old software, but it works just fine. With the Windows S1500 version, it comes with Acrobat 9.
     
  3. elefantrider thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Thank you.
    I guess that now begs the question:

    Is the bundled Mac Acrobat software worth using with Lion, or is there something better now for organizing scans?
     
  4. brentsg macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    #4
    Well it's more than just organizing. You're losing Acrobat Pro 9 for OSX as well if you buy the Windows version.
     
  5. elefantrider thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Just called Fujitsu who confirmed only the white S1500M comes with Acrobat 9 for Mac. Although a few years old, Acrobat9 still looks like a good thing to have.

    Now I'm wondering if the scanner will work if plugged into Time Capsule's USB port?

    That way, at least I won't have to look at a white scanner on my black desk.
     
  6. elefantrider thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #6
    Anyone know if it will work plugged into Time Capsule's USB?
     
  7. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #7
    Definitely won't work.

    I'm not sure why you'd want the black one though... I have a black desk too and the S1500M still looks great next to my 27" iMac.

    [​IMG]

    Don't mind the 21" on the right, it's not usually there. I was just, uh, "working." :cool:
     
  8. elefantrider thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Thanks. Nice setup.
    I will probably go for the white one.

    I saw they just improved the speed of their smaller version, the S1100i.

    It's also tempting but I've found the smaller unit uses different optical sensor and some people seem to be reporting better quality with the full size S1500m.
     
  9. Robalb macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    #9
    any luck

    have you had any luck with the black S1500? Did you try it?
     

Share This Page