Scared to buy a Mac

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by comb, Feb 17, 2008.

1. comb macrumors newbie

Just browsing all of these threads makes me tremble. I am a student and have finally made the decision to get my first Mac, but from what I've read there's a much greater chance of me getting a lemon notebook from Apple then from a Windows based company. My biggest fear is being stuck without a computer for a few days/weeks while Apple fixes their problem. Am I just worrying, or is this something I actually need to think about?

2. 119576 Guest

The threads on this forum are extremely biased toward pointing out the bad things (mainly because people come here to ask for help)

However, there are many people (such as myself) who are completely happy with their products; but don't tend to speak up about them on here.

3. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

The reason you only see posts about "lemons" is that the people who got computers with no problems don't care to post "Everything is fine. Nothing is broken." ad infinitum. Get a Mac. You'll be amazed at what you can't do, as "nothing" used to be what you could do.;)

4. bartelby macrumors Core

The chances of getting a lemon are probably the same as getting a bad windows based machine. If you only took notice of forum/internet gossip you'd think Apple had 75% of their products going wrong.

Apple's QC has gone downhill in recent years but you have to remember no-one really talks about their Apple if it doesn't go wrong.

5. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

Get a Mac, you'll be fine.

The only issue I've had with an Apple notebook was my 1st generation MacBook Pro. I've learnt to never buy 1st gen hardware, but now that the MacBook and MacBook Pro designs are very mature and very reliable (my current MacBook Pro is flawless, as is my dad's MacBook).

6. bartelby macrumors Core

That's the golden rule! :)

7. Peace macrumors Core

Peace