Scared to upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by fosterpants, Nov 13, 2011.

1. fosterpants macrumors newbie

Hello, I'm fairly new to Mac so go easy on me.

I am currently running Snow Leopard but want to upgrade to Lion mainly because Photostream won't work unless I do. But I'm afraid I'm going to lose settings and programs that have taken quite a bit of time to set up (for me) such as Growl, gfxCardstatus, WiTopia vpn, dropbox ect...

When I upgrade to Lion, will I have to go through an set these programs up all over again or will my Mac be essentially just like I had it only with the new features of Lion?

2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Unless there's a need to upgrade to Lion, why do it? I only upgrade to a new OS if it offers something I need or want that my current OS doesn't provide. So far, I haven't seen anything in Snow Leopard or Lion that would motivate me to upgrade from Leopard. One of the primary reasons is tools that I use daily would no longer work on SL or Lion. The loss of productivity isn't worth it, especially since I wouldn't gain anything useful. If you don't have a compelling reason for upgrading, then don't.

3. calderone macrumors 68040

calderone

Most programs should work.

I would advise you to do some research as some applications may need to be upgraded. Some may not work at all. Research is your best friend.

4. Soliber macrumors regular

How about the enhanced security?

5. wpotere, Nov 13, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2011

wpotere Guest

How about there really aren't any over SL.

6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

GGJstudios

Correct. There aren't any meaningful security differences between SL and Lion.

7. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

wrldwzrd89

There are a ton of sites you can use to research program compatibility. Keep in mind these 3 general points, though:
    1. Rosetta (PowerPC-only) programs will NOT run at all.