Sceeen just stays black "no signal"

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by waloshin, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. waloshin macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #1
    Screen stays black.
    I've tried the onboard vga, onboard hdmi.
    I also tried my GTX 460 through the hdmi and nothing works.
    the fan spins on the video card even when not plugged into power.
    Everything else turns on.
    The keyboard light blink when I first turn on, but I cannot turn them back on.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  3. Grey Beard macrumors 65816

    Grey Beard

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2005
    Location:
    The Antipodes.
    #3
    [performs ritual Face Palm]
    Wally has found the missing black screen of death.

    KGB:rolleyes:
     
  4. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #4
    For clarification:

    My desktop computer is not sending out a video signal through either the hdmi or the vga.

    Even my nvidia GTX 460 is not sending out a signal to the monitor.
     
  5. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #5
    I'm guessing it's a PC considering a Mac Pro doesn't have onboard VGA?
    What are your BIOS settings for the Video Card? Is it set to use the integrated or dedicated at boot? Can you see the computer POST at all?
     
  6. fireshot91 macrumors 601

    fireshot91

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Location:
    Northern VA
  7. iJohnHenry macrumors P6

    iJohnHenry

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    On tenterhooks
    #7
    Maybe it's the operator?

    I think he is trying to fix someone's PC for them.

    Good luck Wally. :p
     
  8. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #8
    Nope can't see the post at all.
     
  9. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    So it's a PC not a Mac?

    The fan spinning on the video card sans power means time to call a priest.
     
  10. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #10
    Yep. Pc.
     
  11. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #11
    Well I was a PC tech for almost 30yrs, today I try to avoid them.
    Anyway what motherboard / brand is it?
    Does the motherboard have built in video?
    Does the monitor work? (can you plug your macbook in to test?)
    Have you recently changed anything in hardware?
    Details
     
  12. steviem macrumors 68020

    steviem

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    New York, Baby!
    #12
    What did you (or the PC owner) do for it to behave like this?
     
  13. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #13
    Motherboard: asus m4a785-m
    I just built this computer so I added ram: KVR1333D3N9/2G
    I will check to see if the monitor works.
    cpu: and phenom 2 x4 955BE
    Video card: evga 1gb GTX 460
    I've also tried the onboard video.
     
  14. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #14
    My last PC (now lives in the closet) was a ASUS M4A78EM with a AMD Phenom II X4 3 GHz. This combo hated the DRAM to be anything but stock speed (DDR2-800MHz).

    ASUS is very fussy on RAM, is yours on the list for that motherboard?
    http://ca.asus.com/en/Motherboards/AMD_AM2Plus/M4A785M/#MSL
    Are you trying to over clock it? Have you reset the CMOS (a jumper)

    Try using only one stick of DRAM to start, make sure it's in the correct slot (see the manual).

    Don't even bother with the video card till you get past the POST screen and update the BIOS to whatever is current. (make sure the card is physically removed from the system)

    Don't mess with over clocking till you have a stable setup.

    How powerful is your power supply?
     
  15. waloshin, Dec 23, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011

    waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #15
    I have reset the cmos earlier didn't help, I've ran the computer without the ram didn't work.

    Would pulling the battery for a bit maybe work?

    Corsair tx 750w 750 watts.
     
  16. blueroom, Dec 23, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011

    blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #16
    It's got to have the RAM, won't do squat without it. Since it's brand new you might need to take a trip to wherever you bought it from.

    Taking the battery out is no different that the jumper thing, won't hurt but will have the same result.

    If the CPU fan isn't starting that's bad. Could be a bent pin or just about anything. Unfortunately taking off the heatsink to check means you have to reapply thermal grease.

    Are all the power connectors connected (that motherboard has two sets) and seated properly?

    Aside from actual busted electronics my first suspect would be the RAM is simply incompatible with that motherboard CPU combo.

    *** Ahh your DRAM is DDR3 and that motherboard only takes DDR2, you've got the wrong RAM type ***

    How did you get it to fit? DDR2 & 3 should be keyed differently.
     
  17. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #17
    Actually the motherboard is:

    http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3/M4A78LTM/

    Asus m4a78lt-m

    The cpu fan runs fine.

    All the power connectors are connected fine.

    The computer will not boot up if I have the 4X 12 volt plugged in,
    The computer will only boot up if I have only the 24x 12 volt plugged in.

    Example:

    [​IMG]

    I think I will reset the cmos again; hopefully that will work.
     
  18. waloshin thread starter macrumors 68040

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #18
    I have reset the cmos took the battery out and still nothing.
     

Share This Page