school firewall blocking ichat/adium

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Theraker007, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. Theraker007 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #1
    I cant connect with either of these programs at school, even though aim and gchat and other windows programs work fine on my friends' windows based machines.

    is there a way to get these programs to work around the firewall since it doesnt seem to be specifically targeting messaging programs?
     
  2. Sdashiki macrumors 68040

    Sdashiki

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Location:
    Behind the lens
    #2
    meebo.com

    Some places know of it and block, most dont.
     
  3. MacForMeOneDay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #3
    So for clarification, are you stating that your Windows using friend can connect to the same IM networks, that iChat/Adium are not able to connect to?

    One way you could check if you can get out is to open a Terminal window and telnet to the the Messaging network on the port they've specified.
    I'm sure that's very confusing, but here's an example for GTalk:

    Open Terminal:
    Type: telnet talk.google.com 5222

    If you get something like this then you are able to get through (Use control+], then type quit to get out):
    Trying 74.125.65.125...
    Connected to talk.l.google.com.

    If you get something like this, then you are being blocked on that port:
    Trying 74.125.65.125...
    telnet: connect to address 74.125.65.125: Operation timed out
    telnet: Unable to connect to remote host
     
  4. Theraker007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #4
    your clarification point is accurate..


    yes, i got:

    Trying 74.125.47.125...
    telnet: connect to address 74.125.47.125: Connection refused
    telnet: Unable to connect to remote host





    anyway i can change the port its on?
     
  5. MacForMeOneDay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #5
    You can use port 443. But you have to force "Old Style SSL". I tried the example given here:http://www.joshgard.com/how-to-configure-adium-to-work-from-behind-a

    And Adium was able to connect for me.
    443 should be open on your network, as this is used for site using https:
     
  6. Theraker007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #6
    tried 443 and chcked the boxes.. still says SSL connection failed, tough firewall :(
     
  7. Theraker007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #7
    tried 443 and chcked the boxes.. still says SSL connection failed, tough firewall :(
     
  8. MacForMeOneDay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #8
    :( indeed.
    You could try seeing if one of your Windows friends has a special setup.
    You may want to do a traceroute talk.google.com and make sure its getting out of your computer.
     
  9. Theraker007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #9
    aim and google talk works for everyone on windows, btw skype works on my mac.



    traceroute for gtalk

    traceroute to talk.l.google.com (74.125.47.125), 64 hops max, 40 byte packets
    1 172.19.250.1 (172.19.250.1) 3.349 ms 1.309 ms 2.885 ms
    2 192.168.200.10 (192.168.200.10) 3.380 ms 2.690 ms 1.271 ms
     
  10. MacForMeOneDay macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    #10
    Is that as far as it got? You should see a path all the way to 74.125.47.125
     
  11. Theraker007 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #11
    i think it stopped there for a while and then i pasted it here thinkng it was done, but i didnt close the terminal window b /c i forgot to and more stuff was there later on when i noticed it open..

    when i go back to school ill try it again
     

Share This Page