Score!!!Well half a score.(updated full score)

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by DearthnVader, May 29, 2019.

  1. DearthnVader macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #1
    Picked up two 2005 G5's for $80, untested with no power cords.

    A little love with some wire, and I got one running, a G5 Quad.

    The other DP 2.3Ghz powers on but makes no beeps or bongs, just sits awhile and the fans ramp up.

    Not sure the trouble with that one, but I only wanted the quad;-)

    Let me know if anyone needs parts for an '05 DP?

    G5 Quad.jpg G5 Quad 2.jpg
     
  2. RhianB macrumors 6502a

    RhianB

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2016
    Location:
    505 USA
    #2
    Congrats on the quad!
     
  3. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #3
    very nice find :)

    I look forward to seeing what you manage to do with it

    time for some linux QEMU KVM PPC Fun? :D
     
  4. z970mp macrumors 65816

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    #4
    I'm still wondering what we can make of HQEMU.

    Maybe I can crack that one day…
     
  5. DearthnVader thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #5
    I got the Dual 2.3ghz working, bad video card and corrupted NVRAM.

    Also @LightBulbFun I got OS 9 to boot to the NanoKernel in Qemu KVM-pr.

    Hopefully we can one day get OS 9 to boot on a G5........
     
  6. LightBulbFun macrumors 68000

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    very nice work :) get a FireGL X3 for the DP2.3 and run Xenon OS? :D



    sadly I have not been able to boot OS 9 at all in QEMU KVM on my PowerMac G5 even when using a G4 CPU option

    I wonder if it would boot on a G4 Mac running QEMU-KVM but IIRC you have to recompile the linux kernel and disable SMP to get KVM working on G3/G4 CPUs for some reason...
     
  7. DearthnVader, Jun 3, 2019
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019

    DearthnVader thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
    #7

    I'm still trying to figure out how to run Linux on my PS3 Slim, I was thinking of an MMU side channel attack to load the kernel in memory and then jump there in real mode.:p

    OS 9 does not load in KVM on a G4, I forget the reason, I debugged it a while back, I'll see if I can find the info I posted about it....

    http://macos9lives.com/smforum/index.php/topic,4652.0.html
     
  8. Traace macrumors regular

    Traace

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    Install a custom firmware, it can patch and re-enable your OtherOS support. Even on a Slim :) .

    Meanwhile a tech guy named René is working on GPU acceleration for that ps3 and maybe a more native boot solution.

    Oh if you can grab a cheap (200$ ~) "PS3 TOOL" development console -> Sony have doubled the RAM. So do it ^^
     
  9. thomasthegps macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2015
    Location:
    France
    #9
    I believe as long as you have the original card in, a second AMD card would work under linux. I would put in a RX560 and try out vulkan and 4K hevc decoding on that ancient harware. Would be fun...
     

Share This Page

8 May 29, 2019